We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy birthday meal!”
Review of Porto Restaurant

Porto Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Just a five minute stroll from the shores of Lake Windermere. Serving food all day with indoor and outdoor seating areas
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Treated my partner for this birthday, we were not disappointed. The food tasted beautiful, it was well presented and came in fairly large portions! Nice atmosphere and well priced for lovely food.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alicegoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 647 of 2 018 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2016

Excellent meal, lovely menu and excellent service. Made for a truly enjoyable evening. Will definitely eat here again

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank andiesx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Wow! This place was the highlight of our mini moon in the lakes. The attention to detail, the lovely friendly staff, the romantic setting, the central location and most importantly the best food! We arrived on time having made a reservation (which is a must as many people who had not booked were turned away) and were seated in a lovely booth with heart confetti on the table which was a lovely touch after telling the restaurant this was our mini moon. We had prosecco to drink and ordered three courses each. We had the lamb koftas and shellfish soup to start, the lamb and steak for main and the cheeseboard and lemon tart for desert. The food was amazing. The steak and lamb cooked to perfection! The best lemon tart I've ever tasted. Great value for money- the bill was £102 for prosecco, two further alcoholic drinks, a Diet Coke and three courses each with a glass of port with the cheeseboard. We enjoy eating out and feel the price was worth every penny here. Would recommend to anyone for a lovely meal in a lovey setting, especially for a special occasion. Thank you so much to Porto for a fab evening. We will return when visiting the lakes again. They also gave us a little congratulations plate with little chocolates which was such a nice personal touch.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Nikr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Reserved this restaurant based on TA ranking and positive reviews. Well we were underwhelmed to say the least. First, the service was very good---fast, friendly and attentive. Second the restaurant itself is attractive and in a desirable location right in the center of town. Given all that we were disappointed in the slim menu offerings and wine list. The menu had no Portuguese or Mediterranean dishes yet they kept the Porto moniker when they bought the restaurant recently from the prior owners. The menu was primarily continental in nature and very limited at that!
Oh well, had the food been better then it would have been OK BUT, sadly it too was lacking. Live and Learn!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jaybeeFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Restaurant has a wonderful atmosphere of cozy, quiet and relaxed. Staff were friendly and attentive. Food was tasty and cooked to perfection. Recommend the asparagus starter and either the lamb or pork belly mains. Cheese bored desert was also a lovely treat.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank debbiebriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porto Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Porto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing