We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, comfortable and centrally located stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Pretty but shabby”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This cottage is one of the nicest places you could stay at for a rental property. It is in the best location for all the restaurants and bars. But it left a lot to be desired about its cleanliness it looks like it had not had a good clean in a long time the throws on the furniture were dirty and thread bare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Little Brook Cottage. We are disappointed to hear that you had issues with the cleaning during your stay. As a company we do pride ourselves on our customer service and go out of our way to ensure holidaymakers have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We do ask guests to call us with any problems during their stay but as you did not make us aware of this we unfortunately did not have an opportunity to resolve the cleaning issues. Nevertheless we do hope this did not detract too much from your stay and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwright12...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disaster”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great location, very modern interior. Cream couch, carpets, white rug, very stained and grubby, could do with a good clean, chiped crockery. Lots of attention from tourists taking photos outside window, so no privacy. Expected noise on night due to location but holiday is being spoilt by the constant blasting of music from the white house hotel, they have speakers on outside walls, have asked them several times to turn it down but it creeps up again, so no peace. Have had quieter holidays in blackpool. 3 days to go and cant wait to get home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Little Brook Cottage. We are disappointed to read you experienced problems during your stay. Once we were made aware of the noise we did contact the hotel and you reported to our office that they did turn the music down. We purchased new crockery for the cottage earlier this year but we will investigate further. If we had been contacted during your stay about these issues we would have inspected the property and the cleaner would have returned.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amedlaw
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, comfortable and centrally located stay”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Well situated cottage. No immediate parking but permit given by cottage holiday company allowed us to park in nearby car park (2 mins walk). The cottage was warm and clean and had almost everything you'd need. It is close to pubs but if you're not usually in bed before 11.00-11.30,it's not really an issue. Back bedroom is a lot quieter than front one.

Would recommend it as a good location to tour the lakes.

Only 2 small requests.
1. Fix the guttering above the front door as it creates a waterfall directly above the door.
2. Nowhere to hang things up in the back bedroom at the moment. Can I suggest hooks on the back of the doors ?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of hanging space in back bedroom or for drying towels
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Little Brook Cottage. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the location of the cottage ideal. We will pass on your comments to the owner. It is great to hear that you would recommend this cottage to others and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaVyyy
Moreton, Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice stay apart from happy snappers”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely few days break except for a couple of things. No parking outside was bit tricky but we managed with car park few minutes away. The cottage was spacious enough for the 2 of us and our dog. We thought it could have done with deep clean as we found dust in various places if you put your hand down (must add we were not checking for dust) but at least the bathrooms were spotless. The tiny backyard was filthy needed a good hose down to remove moss which could be slippy. Rooms nice furnished though making it feel cosy and cottage like.
My main PROBLEM though was the WINDOWS particulary downstairs. There was NO PRIVACY at the windows you could see straight into lounge, there were solid pull down blinds but that made the room dark (venetian or verticals or nets would have been better). Fully aware that the age of the property attracts attention but it is not nice when you are sitting having a drink and tourists are taking photos of you i.e. standing outside the window smiling and snapping away. For us that spoilt what was a lovely few days need break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bathrooms and furnishings
Liked least: No privacy at windows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Little Brook Cottage. We are disappointed to hear that you had a couple of issues during your stay - had you made us aware of these we would have had an opportunity to have the cleaner revisit the property. (Your comments regarding the blinds have been passed on to the owner) We do hope these issues did not detract too much from your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinfold31
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Great location for everything.
Bedrooms lovely and the lounge.
Kitchen could do with a few more untensils as we like to cook.
Shower lovely just watch when wAlking into bathroom as very tight fit.
Back yard could do with a clean up as very slippy.
But would recommend to friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Little Brook Cottage.

Thank you for informing Lakes Cottage Holidays that you would recommend Little Brook Cottage to your friends!

We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the cottage and thought the bedroom and lounge were lovely.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Little Brook Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;