We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Show home quality”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lilystone cottage

Lilystone Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lilystone Cottage
Fully fitted kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Lilystone Cottage
Fully fitted kitchen
Cloakroom
Downstairs cloakroom
Fully fitted bathroom with seperate shower cubicle
Seating in courtyard
TV and chest if drawers in top bedroom
Top floor bedroom
First floor bedroom
TV and wardrobe in first floor bedroom
TV and wardrobe in twin room
Twin room
Lounge
Wood burning stove
Dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve C
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Show home quality”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the property 28th September to 2nd October with partner two children and my niece opened the door first impression was just WOW pictures don't do this property justice at all we stayed at a brand new Hilton hotel in Bournemouth a few months back but this place is just better in every way beautifully decorated full of everything you would need a PS3 3D tv surround sound fully fitted kitchen all perfect .location of the property is 2-3 minutes from the seafront and close to everything
We all loved the accommodation and didn't want to leave will definitely be booking again
Thanks for letting us stay here Steve

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2015
Thank you for your fantastic review really glad you enjoyed your stay at Lilystone Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronika...
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was exactly as described. Modern, clean, spacious and superb location. There was everything you would need in the house. It almost felt like home. The booking was fast and easy and communication with the owners is great. Would definitely book again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
Thank you very much we would love to welcome you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frederick...
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The house is everything that you would want, it has all the things that you need for a great stay. The house itself is in very good condition and the location is very central and not far from all amenities and the beach. I would recommend this house to all my family and friends. We would happily go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its hard to state as everything was very good
Liked least: The 5am seagull alarm clock!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mutiny191...
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Genuinely superb holdiday let...simply perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lilystone Cottage is a three story terraced cottage situated in Bath Street, Weymouth and my family and I stayed there from August 8th-15th 2015. I can genuinely say that both the property and the location were absolutely perfect for our family week away and I have no reservations whatsoever in recommending this place to anyone, in fact I have already done so. The cottage sleeps six (two double rooms and one twin room), has a roomy and hi-spec shower and bathroom on the first floor and an additional toilet downstairs. The lounge/diner is roomy and tastefully decorated and the kitchen has been fantastically refurbished and is possibly the best appointed and equipped of any holiday let I have stayed at previously - everything is provided from the usual pots, pans & utensils, to tea, coffee, sugar, biscuits, various condiments & cooking oil plus such things as insect killer (not needed happily), washing tabs for the dishwasher and washing machine and kitchen roll. How many other holiday lets in this price bracket would think to provide not only a hair drier but hair straighteners for their guests too? A handy information file is provided with everything you need to know about any of the gadgets and gizmos in the cottage from braziers outside on the patio area, to the log burners in the lounge, the TVs in every room to the recycling and rubbish collection arrangements in 'gull proof' sacks provided!. The whole operation of arrival and departure was as seamless and trouble free as could be with a code provided in advance to access the key from the key safe and a parking permit waiting on the dining table. We did not meet the owners (nor the cleaning company that maintain the property but who are available at the end of the phone if required) but we didn't need to. Everything and more was supplied, all was spotlessly clean and the whole experience was faultless. This really is a beautifully holiday let - recently refurbished to the highest spec but more that that, with the comfort and convenience of the guest clearly uppermost in the owner's mind. We were delighted with it.
As for location - you are quite literally a couple of minutes walk from Weymouth's esplanade - just wend your way through a couple of streets and you emerge at the Clock Tower - how more convenient could it be? Or a slightly longer stroll in the opposite direction brings you out at the beautiful harbour end of Weymouth. Perfect!
As for Weymouth itself, there are more than enough reviews on here to convince anyone that it really is a brilliant place for a traditional bucket and spade holiday - the sea is wonderfully shallow and the beach really clean and you have everything you need for all generations to enjoy....the beach ball and flip flop stands, the chips, the candy floss the donkey rides, the fun fair, a brilliant Punch and Judy man and all the souvenir tat you can stand. But you also have plenty of tea stations, loads of bins and street cleaners and amazingly in this day and age, more than adequate toilet facilities always somewhere close by. The new Tower offering 'flghts' with panoramic views was good, the land train was beetling back and forth along the esplanade the whole time and the Sea Life centre and associated splash-pool were simply brilliant (note: the tickets for the Sea Life Centre also include a free flight on the Panoramic Tower so better value for money than might be immediately obvious). We were blessed with good weather on the whole but for a rainy day, Sharky's soft play warehouse on the harbour is a godsend for the youngsters whilst the antique & collectible browsing experience of the vast Brewer's Quay complex and other craft and gift shops in the harbour area could fill up more than one rainy afternoon. And as a base for exploring a little wider, Weymouth is perfectly situated - one of the best attractions in the vicinity for youngsters is Monkey World at Wareham - fabulous facilities and surely one of the finest adventure play areas ever designed.
So all in all, yes, a great week away for all the family in Weymouth - not cheap but where is along our coasts these days? If you want the whole seaside experience of long ago with all the mods cons for comfort and convenience thrown in, then Weymouth is the place for your family - and if you want a little gem of a place to stay when you are there then don't hesitate - book Lilystone Cottage while you can. You will be utterly charmed by it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The careful thought given to providing comfort for the guests - real value for money.
Liked least: It would have been great to have wifi, but these thick walled old stone cottages are not ideal for that and hey, we're on holdiday - the idea, is to get away from the computer for a while surely!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for lovely comments it means a lot to us when our guests enjoy their holiday and Lilystone cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loublou19...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully decorated house close to the beach”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Upon entering Lilystone cottage we were met with beautiful decor and home comforts. The welcome pack containing tea, coffee and biscuits went down well. A parking permit is left to use and we only once couldn't park in the allocated zone but were given instructions by the lovely next door neighbour on where to park overnight for free. The kids really enjoyed the choice of the three tv's in the house on the rainy mornings that we had! The house is only a few minutes walk from the sea front and town centre where you will find all the main shops plus local boutique styles which are lovely. Although the weather wasn't great the first few days we still managed to get around in between showers. A visit to the Northe Fort is recommended and had plenty of things there to see and do for our daughters who are 9 & 6, including finding mice! The kids really enjoyed the beach and watching the punch and judy show. A walk up to Lodmoor park and beyond to Bowleaze Cove is recommended. The kids enjoyed the wavy slides (which once paid could go on as many times as you wanted) and the open park at Lodmoor and especially liked skimming pebbles off the beach into the sea. All in all weymouth is recommended for a family break as is the lovely Lilystone Cottage which we will be booking again! The only little qualms I have is that I couldn't find an iron (which I know I shouldn't be doing when on holiday) but needed to iron a couple of shirts on two occasions and couldn't locate one, and maybe some board games/card games could be left to play with incase of wet weather? Other than that really enjoyed our stay at Lilystone cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Thank you for you comments we'll take them on board
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$126
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing