We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely

It was a nice afternoon out and the weather was kind to us which made the river walk and garden... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2017
hayley1980
,
sunderland
Walking in the footsteps of JMW Turner

My wife is a woman not prone to exaggeration and says that our recent visit to Rokeby Hall and Park... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2017
ashovercouple
,
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Read all 13 reviews
  
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
7
4
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
4
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour well worth a visit needlework knowledge century hall
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

After a talk by Tony at our Local History Group attached to South Durham U3a we booked a guided tour of Rokeby Hall. We certainly where not disappointed. Tony was our guide a very knowledgeable man who makes everything so interesting. A house that is also a home to the Morritt family. It is so interesting wallpaper that is actually pictures framed by paper frames so unusual. Ann Morritts needlework is amazing never seen anything like it before. This hall is well worth a visit.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank boydy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Surely with a house dating back to 1725 there are some stories to tell. Very very disappointing visit. Outside lovely, staff friendly but oh what a let down. £11 with guide book which is very old fashioned, not herd of social media. If wanting to attract paying visitors then you have to GIVE something of interest to see. Black binders placed in each room were no more than a catalogue for thieves and insurance purposes. No gardens to speak of a few pots and sheep in field over priced and under whelmed

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank 987carolinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

It was a nice afternoon out and the weather was kind to us which made the river walk and garden stroll quite pleasant. The house is nice although I think a guided tour would have been a better way to learn about the family and the history of the house. We did not sit down in the house but for those who might need a rest we were advised that any chair without rope on was ok to use. I thought this was a really great idea and I assume would be appreciated by many people. I would recommend visiting as it was a nice way to spend a couple of hours if in the area.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank hayley1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Rokeby Park is well worth a visit to enjoy the architecture, contents and family history associated with the park. Our visit was greatly enhanced by the knowledge of the guides and their willingness to share it in an accessible and very friendly manner.

The admission price is very reasonable and visitors are able to look around the premises at their own pace. The park is a very short distance from the A66 and easy to find. A walk down to the picturesque river is highly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

On an August Bank Holiday we wanted to get away from the crowds and discovered Rokeby was open, what a delight to visit. Beautiful house and grounds, very knowledgeable guides, and the needlework was exquisite. Very well worth a visit

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank patsiesmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews