We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Barnard Castle, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
billolly
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second 4 night break this year in this lovely cottage and we will be back again for sure. The views over the river are stunning and to sit on the bench in the back garden at sunset with a glass of wine is absolutely lovely. Back inside the cottage in the dining area looking out of the windows you can spot birds of many varieties feeding from the bird table. The cottage is faultless and very well equipped, wanting for nothing. We have fallen in love with this place as it is so comfortable and cosy and very relaxing.There are lovely walks on the doorstep and further afield and we had some lovely countryside drives but we always looked forward to coming back to the cottage at the end of the day because it is so homely and welcoming. Just to add, the owners live next door and very nice they are too. Can't wait for next visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaonthe...
Dorking
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Cosy Gem on a Beautiful River with Plenty of Wildlife and Walks About”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We booked Boot & Shoe cottage a bit last minute as we decided we wanted to spend some time near family on holiday in Richmond, Yorkshire. We must have been lucky as the guestbook shows that this little place is booked almost year round and we could see why.

The owners - who live next door - have done a marvellous job renovating the cottage which previously has been in the hands of one owner for many years - offering all the comfort you need whilst remaining many quirky original features.

Aside from the interior of the accommodation - which is very cosy with an open fire and a small kitchen/diner opening up to a small garden - it was the amazing location on the wild river Tees that really made me feel away from it all.

On the first night I saw an otter swimming past while I was eating my dinner. Every day we saw kingfishers flying low over the water and in the morning we were treated to a woodpecker and it's young one eating from the birdfeeder. The only noise waking you in the morning are the sheep talking and once you venture out the front a flock of happy ginger hens is your company.

We made lovely day trips from Wycliffe but made equally nice walks from the cottage. There is a pub you can walk to along the river in the next village who's landlord is so funny he should be on Live at the Apollo.

All in all a lovely place to stay that I'd happily recommend to anyone.

Note to future visitors: we found the descriptions to where to find the key a bit puzzling once we were actually near the property and phone reception on the spot is patchy so you may want to make sure this is super clear before you head off.

You can add Wi-Fi but you have to arrange it on the spot and you pay for it. Personally we loved being disconnected for a week ;) Seeing the tick boxes below on pets - we read there is a kennel for dogs although I guess if your dog is trouble with sheep it would be more fair to leave it home. Older travellers that walk well and love nature will have a great time here - if you have to be very close to shops and health facilities you may find it a bit remote.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location, wildlife and cosy atmosphere of the cottage.
Liked least: If there is wi-fi in the area - just add it - in fact we were glad to be disconnected.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2016
There is now no charge for wi-fi, however we ask guests to request the code from us - some guests would rather not know it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billolly
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tranquil and relaxing !”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a lovely 4 night stay at the boot and shoe cottage and we just wish we were able to stay longer. This place is something special. The lovely spacious rooms with lots of littlle " nooks and crannies" was so cosy that we really would've been happy spending all of our time just in front of the the fire and relaxing. As it was though we walked miles over the lovely countryside of the Pennines Way and the River Tees . There is much to explore and we can't wait to go back in the summer and do some of the things we couldn't do on this visit. There is nothing to want for in the cottage,it is so well equipped and the comfort of the double bed and good quality bedding makes this place of a very high standard. It is great to watch the owners chickens roaming around and the all birds that come to the feeder in the garden .To sum it up if you are looking for a restful holiday with lovely walks and superb views then this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceuk23
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We have stayed in this wonderful cottage two times and hope to return again. It is on the edge of the river Tees and is surrounded by beautiful countryside. The open fire is a real bonus and, although the cottage is very old and full of character, it has all the mod-cons to make staying there a real treat. Thank you very much for being a great host, we have been recommending it to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott U
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our seventh New Year in Boot & Shoe Cottage.”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We have recently returned home from celebrating our seventh New Year in Boot & Shoe cottage.
The cottage is situated on the bank of the river Tee in the tiny picturesque village of Wycliffe near Barnard Castle. Downstairs Boot & Shoe offers a comfortable living room with open fire, kitchen diner with log burner and views of the river, utility room with downstairs shower & WC. Upstairs there is a large double bedroom, cosy twin bedroom and bathroom.
Upon arrival you are greeted with a welcome pack usually consisting of homemade baked bread and tarts and in the fridge you will find orange juice, milk, butter & free range eggs laid by the owners own chickens.
The surrounding area is a great place for walkers and all people that enjoy the British countryside, with the Bridge Inn at Whorlton (serving good food) within easy walking distance even for the novices amongst us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$93
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing