We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mac and Cheese”

Valentine's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$17
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Made with a butternut squash and chilli, it’s tremendous. Stop whatever you’re doing and go and have some, or anything it’s all great.

Thank martygreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks30, Owner at Valentine's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you Martygreaves for you fantastic review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for some more Mac and Cheese !!
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Went to Valentine’s yesterday and we were in a rush. Asked the owner what was quick and he replied we are fast, choose what you want. Both of us chose the crispy bacon sandwich, which was utterly fabulous. The food came really quickly and even asking them to crisp the bacon a bit more was super quick. (I’m not advocating rushing folk like this as a matter of course, I’m just highlighting the fact that they knew we were in a hurry and still delivered). Mind you the “light bites” are pretty substantial - nothing to complain about there! The service was friendly and courteous. We had a fab lunch and got out in time for our appointment, for which I would like to thank these guys greatly. I doubt we could have got food that good, served in that time and out when we needed to be anywhere else. We will definitely go back even though it is 60 miles away. Would recommend unreservedly.

1  Thank Vivalavida01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks30, Owner at Valentine's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you so much for your fabulous review it’s alway great to here such positive feedback and that our love for the restaurant shows through our customer service.
Kind regards
Mark and Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Food well cooked and very appetizing, staff extremely pleasant and hardworking. Home made coleslaw was delicious, Good choice of gluten free food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joolz24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks30, Owner at Valentine's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Mark and Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Great food, with lots to choose from on the menu plus a specials board. The service was very good and the staff were very friendly. Would happily recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MeanMrMustard2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks30, Owner at Valentine's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you for your great review, we all love getting such great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Mark and Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Went in for late lunch. Quite a few items on menu unavailable. Staff obviously in a rush to go home. Food ok nowt flash but felt had to swallow it down quickly. More smiles guys please

Thank essexgal2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marks30, Owner at Valentine's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

I personally served every customer last week on the lunchtimes and going off your profile picture and my CCTV can state you haven’t eaten in my Restaurant. Your statement about having no food left is also false, we didn’t run out of any items on the Lunchtime Menu. Can you answer me why you have reviewed so many businesses in Barnard Castle on the same day because it’s impossible to eat in all these places in one day. As far as your other statement about being rushed this is also completely untrue as all the customers had left 30 minutes before closing time. Shame on you for giving myself and others hard working businesses false reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valentine's Restaurant also viewed

 
Barnard Castle, Durham
 
Barnard Castle, Durham
Barnard Castle, Durham
 

Been to Valentine's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing