We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Cafe Bowes

Cafe Bowes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: the Cafe is in the Bowes Museum
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Went to cafe bowes normally have nice experience, this time after a short wait to be shown to table we were then left unattended without even a menu for over ten minutes, another party then arrived and were seen to straight away and given menus. We walked out in disgust with a minor apology after my complaint. Won't be returning.

Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewT4668, Manager at Cafe Bowes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Hi Gillian

I can only apologize for your recent visit to Cafe Bowes. We pride ourselves on delivering a high standard of service which you have always received on your past visits, but we have failed on this occasion. We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards

Andrew Trowsdale and The Cafe Bowes Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018

You pay after you've eaten, & at your table. Our waiter didn't smile or communicate well. But good portions of food I'd go back for!

Thank 555Julia555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewT4668, Manager at Cafe Bowes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Hi

Thank you for your great review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards

Andrew Trowsdale and The Cafe Bowes Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We visited Bowes museum today as we were staying for a few days at a cottage near by. The staff were very helpful and friendly, we had a lovely meal and the coffee was the best ever. My husband is wheelchair bound so everyone was so helpful to us. Thoroughly enjoyed our day out, we'll definitely be returning. Thank you to everyone concerned.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 203joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewT4668, Manager at Cafe Bowes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Hi

The Cafe Bowes team would like to thank you for leaving your review and appreciate the acknowledgment of the service we deliver.

See you again soon.

Andrew Trowsdale and The Cafe Bowes Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

this is the place to eat great food, great variety and a very fair price. The service was good and the staff very polite and helpful

Thank 505norman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewT4668, Manager at Cafe Bowes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Hi Norman

Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated by the team at Cafe Bowes.

Regards


Andrew Trowsdale and the team at Cafe Bowes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

There is nothing special about the cafe. Bug does can the basic snacks ,coffee and teas. Service is top knotch.

Thank joycep883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewT4668, Manager at Cafe Bowes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Thank you for your review and we will see you again.

Andrew Trowsdale and The Cafe Bowes Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Bowes also viewed

Barnard Castle, Durham
 
Barnard Castle, Durham
 
Barnard Castle, Durham
 

Been to Cafe Bowes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing