We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!!”
La Chaumiere a beautiful detached thatched cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Chaumiere a beautiful detached thatched cottage
This large sunny patio area surrounding the pool is great for sun bathing Spacious lounge with high pitched ceiling
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
La Chaumiere a beautiful detached thatched cottage
This large sunny patio area surrounding the pool is great for sun bathing
Spacious lounge with high pitched ceiling
Play area - swings, slide, climbing frame & see-saw
Heated swimming pool set amidst stunning gardens
Modern kitchen with quality equipment, plus breakfast bar for casual dining
Attractive pond garden with picnic area & secured access
Stone archway from lounge through to dining room
Banana plants around the swimming pool!
Ground floor master en-suite bedroom - ideal if using stairs would be a problem
Scented lavender path to & from the swimming pool
Twin bedroom 2 with optional cot
Superb views across the coutryside from the pool area
Master bedroom 2
Twin bedroom 1 with option for an extra single bed
Spacious gardens with plenty of areas to relax
Shade and comfortable sun loungers around the pool
Large patio area equiped with gas BBQ, sun loungers etc
Picnic tables are situated throughout the grounds
Beautiful interior decor complimenting high quality furnishing
Manicures & pedicures, in addition to Gel nails are available
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Quistinic, Morbihan, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sheltiesr...
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

If you are used to a self-catering holiday, La Chaumiere will blow your socks off. It is comfortable, beautiful and relaxing. It is completely finished with everything a guest could think of - I could have easily stayed there for months and months without missing my own kitchen items - it is that complete and everything was of the highest quality. (Amazing!!) The surroundings are calm and beautiful. My greatest pleasure was waking up before anyone else and taking my coffee outside, walking around the extensive grounds and enjoying all the beautiful spring flowers. Since spring was late this year, we were able to see blue bells, lilies of the valley, azaleas, and lilacs in bloom. Huge roses twine up the sides of the house and they opened during our two week stay. When we left, the fruit trees were just starting to blossom. Day after day, something new and beautiful appeared in the garden. Numerous birds sang and of course, there was the ubiquitous cuckoo (not so beautiful in speech, but familiar just the same). I choose this cottage because it had a ground floor bedroom and bathroom, which was needed for my 87 year old mother. That worked out perfectly for us. The attention to the smallest detail, including the organization of tourist information, was outstanding. (Need a tissue? Tricia had a box in most every room - incredible!) Mattresses were perfect, the linens top notch and the duvets were cozy. The house and grounds are kept to an exacting standard. Tricia and Neil, your hosts, were ready and eager to help with any tiny thing that could make the stay even better. We also greatly enjoyed the option of having several meals catered by Connie. If you order from her European menu, do get a dessert - heavenly!!
I cannot overstate what a wonderful holiday home this is. The only drawback is one does eventually have to leave. I could have happily stayed for much longer, enjoying the company of Tricia and Neil (who live close by - attentive, yet unobtrusive - terrific people!) and the countryside peace and quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the ancient stone house, the beauty of the gardens, the completeness of the kitchen, the owners.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janet b
Gilwern
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfection in the countryside”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

An absolutely amazingly, beautiful, thatched cottage sleeping 8 easily, alongside the helpful, owners and slightly smaller, yet just as picturesque, sister cottage.We stayed with our two adult sons,and their partners, plus our dog, (by prior arrangement)for a thoroughly enjoyable week. The cottage had everything anyone could desire or need and the heated, all weather pool was a great asset enjoyed by all. As were the grounds and facilities therein.The hosts attention to detail, from the welcome hamper to the range of equipment available within the cottage and grounds was incredible. Tricia & Neil were very helpful and, while unobtrusive, were on hand to offer advice and support with bookings for outings/ activities, places to walk, visit and booking vets on our behalf.While rural the cottage has excellent links to cities and beaches.. such as Vannes, L'Orient, Carnac and many, many other interesting sites. All of the furniture and equipment was excellent quality and the cottage and grounds were immaculate. You would need a car to enjoy all the area has to offer and no doubt be as reluctant to leave as we were.Hope to visit again soon....and enjoy an autumnal log fire in this lovely home from home.Would highly recommend on end you visit as soon as you can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving after just one week
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry T
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It would be difficult to exaggerate such an experience”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

1. There was absolutely nothing lacking in the cottage. More than completely equipped. First time ever in our experience.
2. We were welcomed with a completely decorated holiday environment, right down to the dining room table set and ready to go (elegantly) for Christmas dinner.
3. We arrived to find food in the refrigerator, a large welcome basket over flowing, wine, boxes of candies, bread, chilled cider.
4. Trisha and Neal were always available to assist us with just about anything, including local hiking maps.
5. We never got the impression that Trisha and Neal were ever intrusive in any way. More like friendly and helpful neighbors.

It would be difficult to conceive that anyone would give any rating but five.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We like how peaceful it was,and the kids loved the pool
Liked least: there wasnt anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the friendliness of hosts
Liked least: We loved everything
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$870
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing