We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Family Holiday”

Review of Three Bears' Lodge

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Front View Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Lounge
Front View
Kitchen
Double Bedroom With En Suite
Twin Bedroom 1
Twin Bedroom 2
En Suite
Interior
Bathroom
The Neighbours
Penstowe Swimming Pool
By Night
View From Bedroom1
Dining Area
Fishing Lakes - Exclusive And Free To Guests
Side View Of Lodge
Surrounding Countryside
Local Scenery
Approach To Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joel r
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic pet-friendly holiday at the Three Bears cottage. It is close to so many places to see. Our children had a great time swimming at the pool. The cottages are very nice inside. The fishing was quite fun also.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Everything as you would wish it to be
Only thing I missed was a washing machine with 2 young children - however dishwasher a god send

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay!”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

On arrival at the lodge we were very happy with the location as it is rural and very peaceful. I had my sister with me who is in a wheelchair and she found getting round the lodge very easy however shower is quite small but she enjoyed baths. Sainsburys delivered shopping to us with very little problem. We visited penstowe manor a few times and my partner used the pool and jacuzzi which was very nice and no payment asked for, my step daughter who is 6 years old really enjoyed the entertainment however would not recommend the food :/
Overall our stay was lovely, peaceful and relaxing. David was very helpful and on the phone if and when we needed. The only recommendation I would have is for a washing machine which David has taken on board for future. Lovely place to stay

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calaz2015
Ware, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic tranquil stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The lodge was extremely spacious and ever so clean. (My 11 month old crawled around everywhere and not a speck of dirt was found on him!) everything we needed there including wifi, although this was extremely temperamental.
Had a problem with one of the locks on the window and David dealt with it immediately so customer service is excellent.
View surrounding lodge was beautiful and each morning there were little bunny rabbits around. Very much like being in centre parcs but you are literally in the middle of nowhere! We didn't find anything that wasn't advertised but the reality of having to get in the car constantly wore off! We did know it, but you can't even walk to a pub and I felt there could've been an on site shop maybe just open for one hour a day?
Really was a beautiful lodge but very expensive considering you're not near anywhere. We paid just under a thousand pounds for one week just for accommodation.
We visited Penstowe Manor and swam which my children loved (little bit dirty but only like a public pool), however in the evening they had kids disco and cabaret which extended our evening nicely. You don't have to pay to go into the bar/restaurant/cabaret and my children loved dancing there of an evening. That gave it the 'holiday' feeling.
I would recommend to others if you're prepared to drive everywhere or want a chilled week lounging around someone else's four walls.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Space and cleanliness
Liked least: How far you had to drive to everywhere
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thanks Laura ,

I don't really think the lodge is "remote" as the Woolsery village shop (open from 8.00 a.m. until 10.00 p.m) is only six minutes away by car and the nearest pub the same distance in the other direction. Our main feedback over the years has been that guests find the attraction of a rural,tranquil living environment coupled with easy access to the Atlantic Highway (A39) five minutes away,is a positive feature.I think that this is also the first review to comment that the tariff was high. The lodge cost £125k to purchase and offers a very high standard of accommodation and does not fall into a "caravan park" holiday bracket in terms of living environment or cost. I am very happy that your overall experience was of a good holiday.

Regards ,

David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedlandMa...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable lodge with flexible availability”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We (a family with three young adult children) wanted to have a three day holiday beginning on a Sunday and struggled to find somewhere that was available starting on a Sunday. We managed to arrange a rental of this property, which has excellent facilities and was very comfortable. It is located amongst around 60 other lodges on a golf course, but we could not actually find any signs of active golfing. It is a lovely part of the world, although the site itself is a bit remote - several miles of twisting country lanes from the nearest two way road. Suited our purposes perfectly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's availability and comfort
Liked least: Relative distance from places of interest
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2015
Thanks Rod ,

It looks as though you may have taken the "scenic route" as the lodge is only about a mile off the A39 ( Atlantic Highway ) .

David .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing