We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely restful New Forest holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gorse Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom en suite
Bedroom 2
Living room
Living room
Conservatory
Kitchen
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3 en suite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4
View from the cottage
View from the cottage
Garden
Garden and conservatory
Wild donkeys outside the property
Welcome pack
Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Brockenhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Traveler6...
1 review
“Lovely restful New Forest holiday”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Nicely decorated and recently renovated, it's a great cottage right in the Forest. We went with elderly parents, and so the level ground floor access to bedrooms and bathrooms was good. Well equipped kitchen and lovely dining conservatory. We walked in the Forest directly from the house, and also had fab short day trips to Lepe beach, Mudeford Pier and Exbury Gardens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Thanks for the feedback and very glad everyone had a great time. Exbury and Lepe are 2 of our favourite places.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra K
Perranporth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb accommodation in beautiful location”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I had a week at GorseCottage from 24th June 2016 along with my sister and her hubby and my 92 year old mum. This is a brilliant holiday cottage with everything you could possibly need. The downstairs bedrooms with en suites were ideal as mum cannot manage stairs. The beds are very comfortable and there is plenty of wardrobe space. The kitchen is much better equipped than my own with a huge arrange of crockery and glassware! The lounge is comfortable with plenty of books, DVDs and games for wet days. The huge conservatory is fantastic looking out over the lovely garden and fields beyond. At the bird feeders we saw blue tits, great tits, finches and THREE woodpeckers - amazing.

The front of the cottage looks out over the forest which is great for walking amongst the cows and ponies. The setting couldn't be better. Although we didn't take ours, dogs are welcome at this accommodation.

Although the weather wasn't too kind it didn't stop us visiting many different places such as Fordingbridge, Burley, Lymington etc. The drive through the heathland parts of the forest is amazing, lots of ponies and donkeys along the way.

All in all, Gorse Cottage is a great place to stay and I hope to return in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the facilities provided
Liked least: Didn't stay long enough and the weather could have been better !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Hi Sandra. We are really glad you enjoyed the cottage and the forest. We love the woodpeckers too, but usually only see one per trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances S
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorse Cottage is the perfect place for a holiday.”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is the best holiday rental I have stayed in. My first visit was 13 years ago when it was a 2 bedroom and 1 bathroom cottage. Now there are 5 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms yet it has lost none of its character. It can now cater for all the family and grandchildren. The conservatory is my favourite room. It looks out on to the attractive garden which is always full of birds. Should the sun shine there is a very comfortable seating area outside and also a barbecue available. It is the perfect place for a family holiday. There is plenty of space for everyone. You can bring your dog too. Should you wish to eat out you are spoilt for choice in the Brockenhurst area.. The New Forest is just across the road for walks or cycle rides. The sea is a short drive away. It really is the perfect place for a holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom F
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The comfort of home in the beauty of the New Forest”
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We booked Gorse Cottage to celebrate my wife's significant birthday with a group of our friends. This place really is everything it says on the websites and more, surpassing all our expectations. We have booked many holiday rentals over the years but this was very special indeed, as a result of the stunning location and quality of accommodation. Rooms are tastefully decorated with touches of luxury everywhere and we were pushed to find anything at all we couldn't find in the house but someone may need. When we arrived the house was warm and there were fresh flowers, cake and some wine as a welcome. The owners were friendly in their correspondence and at the end of the stay our deposit was returned in good time. If you are looking for a little bit of luxury then this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Level of comfort offered.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Hi Tom. I'm glad you you enjoyed the cottage. I hope your wife had a great birthday. Best wishes, JULIAN
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penguin20...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent in all respects, accommodation, location, owner.”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Booking was easy and any queries dealt with efficiently. Nine of us stayed for Christmas week, age ranging from 5 to 65, including 3 teenagers. Plenty of space, children loved the 50" TV! Very well equipped. Lovely welcome pack including cake and wine. Beautiful location with excellent walks. Was a very special Christmas for us all. Would definitely like to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Presentation and location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2016
Thanks for the review. Really glad you had a great Christmas at the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing