We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful property, relaxing holiday!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Allie1141...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A very comfortable and tastefully converted chapel. The owners have provided everything needed for a lovely holiday and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was a very peaceful and relaxing break. The property has a nice garden which would be lovely to relax in if the weather was warmer. All the rooms overlook it and there are multiple bird feeders visited by many small birds - lovely to see. The property is a couple of miles from the village of Kilkhampton and it is easy to explore (with a car) a range of attractions in Cornwall and Devon. There are also some lovely areas to explore very close to the property. We hope to visit again soon! Thanks!

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2018
Thank you for the review and lovely comments in the guest book Stephanie, we very much look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to Bishops in the future.
Sallie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Warm, cosy and well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed 24 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Bishops is warm, cosy and one of the best equipped cottages we have stayed in. The chapel is in a lovely rural location, with Tamar Lakes nearby but close enough to local amenities and attractions. As expected in February the weather wasn't great but we enjoyed a walk about the upper lake and to get out somewhere everyday. On return the cottage was very warm and we enjoyed the wood burner, but didn't need it to keep warm. Loved all the original chapel features built into the conversion and my daughter and I enjoyed the experience of cooking on the Aga. I would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a peaceful break and hope to visit again.

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
Jenny, thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cooosoak
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Short Break”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What a beautiful chapel to stay in.. it is totally charming, clean, warm (I stayed in October) and has everything you need. Nestled 5 mins away from the village of Kilkhampton it is an ideal holiday location. A wonderful base for visiting Cornwall. Will definitely stay again !

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
Thanks for your lovely review Nikki. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navigate4...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautifully converted Wesleyan Chapel full of character and charm”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at this beautifully renovated chapel in February 2017. It was warm and cosy on cold evenings. All the equipment, furniture and fittings are of a very high standard and we loved the little reminders of the historic past of this converted Wesleyan Chapel including the gothic windows, antique wall clock and antique clasp Bible in a special Bible cupboard. The cottage is full of charm and character and we warmly recommend it. Next time we would come back in warmer weather to be able to take full advantage of the lovely garden and decking.
There is much on offer in the wider area, we travelled to Paignton Zoo near Torquay, Arlington Court (National Trust) north of Barnstaple, the breathtaking cliffs and beach at Sandymouth (National Trust) and Splash swimming pool in Bude, a quiet and attractive resort.
We were also impressed with Sallie's prompt responses to our booking and email queries.

Date of stay: February 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Ros, thank you for your lovely review. It is always such a delight when our guests enjoy the chapel and surrounding area. We woukd love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthewb4...
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional – Enchanting – Comfortable”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here over New Year with my wife and four children.

Exceptional – This place has the wow factor. Exceptional accommodation with every detail right. Very decent, straightforward, honest and generous owners.

Enchanting – Beautifully restored Chapel with great sensitivity to the buildings spiritual history. The building is the best place we have ever stayed to rest body mind and soul. It’s just a very special building and setting. The area is also wonderful. For us the perfect distance from civilisation if you want it, but cut off enough to feel like you really have escaped.

Comfortable – The owner’s generosity of spirit really shines through. Every detail is well thought through. The Chapel is very well heated. The beds are very comfortable. The furnishing is very tasteful. The owners allow you to enjoy the place as if it is your own private escape. Really, we cannot fault anything.
We will certainly be going back as soon as we are able.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2017
Thank you Matthew and Carolyn, for your lovely review. We are so glad you and the children enjoyed staying at the chapel, that is what we aim to achieve and you are more than welcome back anytime particularly as you left it very clean and tidy, that is very much appreciated. I hope it isn't too long before we can welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.