We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely loved it!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Newton Abbot, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sunnytofi...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“from bad to worse..”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Good Points;
1, The accommodation was spacious and clean with reasonably good facilities.
2, The location is good for exploring surrounding area.

Bad Points;
1, The oil-fired Central Heating wasn't working for the whole of our stay. We informed the owner of this on arrival, but still wasn't fixed 6 days later. Our stay was a very cold week in February, and we had to rely on a single electric fan heater in the living room, which was totally inadequate for heating such a big place. This property is on a Key Meter, and so our use of the fan heater, as well as having to use the electric immersion heater to heat the hot water tank (so we could shower etc) meant we used up the electricity credit very quickly, and hence we also had to keep charging the key up at the supermarket, at substantial cost and inconvenience. The owner states he will refund any electricity used (see photo), but he did not (see Point 3 & 4.)
2, On our arrival we noticed that the outside wheelie Bin was completely overflowing with rubbish, and we found more rubbish bags inside the garage. We resorted to having to take our own rubbish out with us every day to dispose of in public bins.
3, After our stay we did not receive our Deposit money back, nor the above mentioned electricity costs. We made multiple calls to the owner, left voicemails, and sent emails on a weekly basis trying to get our money back, but were completely ignored.
4, After 7 weeks, we wrote to the owner that after 1 more week we would be proceeding with small claims court action to recover our money.
After a further 6 days, i.e the very last day before we were due to raise our Court Application, the owner then surprisingly made a Bank Transfer to us for the deposit, but NOT for the electricity costs.

As a family with 3x very young children, and tight budgets, we found the whole situation appalling, and we wish we had never stayed there.

Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No central heating during our stay, and huge effort to get our deposit back.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
We're glad you liked the cottage and the village and the general area. We know from discussions how much you enjoyed this lovely area.

As for the deposit, we returned this to you as soon as we were able following the loss of our computer system and the fact there was a glitch in our (new) automated [payment system. Far from being completely ignored, we kept you informed throughout but were unable to ascertain whether our system had processed the payment. On a related point, we note the cynical comment regarding your legal threat. The payment was made in good faith at the earliest opportunity, and the suggestion that this was deliberately only done on the last day before legal proceedings is as inaccurate as it is unpleasant.

We know from our discussions that you enjoyed your stay and we are sorry you have allowed the difficulties we encountereed after your return to taint your view. Notwithstanding this, we are glad you and the children enjoyed the visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacer A
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely loved it!”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed in the Pleasant Maris for a third time. Cosy as every and really allowed us to enjoy this beautiful part of the world. The location is great and the owner was a joy to deal with - prompt, efficient and always helpful. We had a very relaxing one week, we would happily have stayed longer. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, helpful owner, property
Liked least: We didn't have enough time there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Great - we're glad you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26Heather
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very quiet and peaceful”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Mr Andy Parker the owner is very helpful and honest, he notified us of some problems and we were grateful for this

The cottage is very large and spacious perfect for families.We visited in Janurary so expected it to be a little nippy, it has a good central heating system

Lovely stay and would recommend the cottage

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
We're glad you enjoyed it and we would love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolamiko
The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unpleasant few days at Pleasant Maris”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On the positive side, this cottage is in a very pretty village close to Newton Abbot. On arrival, we discovered we had been given the wrong key code which was the first hurdle to overcome. The one rubbish bin outside the property was overflowing and there was more rubbish in the garage. Guests should be aware, electricity costs are NOT included in the rental price, which the owner did notify us about - but only 2 days before our booked stay, many months after the actual reservation was made. We were nonetheless surprised on entering the property to find the metre was down to the emergency supply and had to rush out and recharge the key While we were there, the oil central heating system failed due to water in the system, which we were told by the man who came to fix it was due to a broken gutter above the tank, coupled with a loose connection on top. Luckily, we did still have hot water due to an electric immersion heater... Again, we topped up the metre to make sure the hot water didn't run out. (I should add the heating system was repaired the following day but we were told there was very little oil left in the tank). Overall, the house was not up to a level I have come to expect from a holiday rental with regard to both cleanliness and maintenance (and I have rented quite a few in Devon over the years) and unfortunately I cannot in good faith recommend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting
Liked least: Dirty oven
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
We're glad you like the cottage and the village - it really is a special place we think.

Apologies for the rubbish - previous guests had "mixed" the recycling and the refuse company wouldn't take it. We have now resolved this for them.

As for the heating, you are mistaken. You were actually told that water in the tank was caused by by condensation. We recall going to considerable lengths (on Christmas eve) to get an engineer to drain the tank and restart the boiler and that you were without the heating for less than one day and were able to have a nice cozy Christmas in the warm. We were, of course pleased that you continued to stay in the cottage thereafter but requested a FULL refund upon you return home (this despite the fact we had got the heating restarted in less than a day!) and you had hot water throughout. Perhaps your review was affected by this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;