We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome.”
Review of The Lamb

The Lamb
Ranked #48 of 162 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Under new management from Monday 30th October 2017 - Angie, Leo and Ciro invite you to come and meet them and enjoy our lovely country pub, The Lamb Inn, whether you want to warm up by our open log fire in the winter or relax in our beautiful beer garden in the summer, it's the perfect place to dine or simply enjoy a drink. Originally an 18th century coaching house, The Lamb Inn is perfectly situated at the edge of The New Forest, close to the historic market town of Christchurch and a short drive to the seaside resort of Bournemouth. The Lamb Inn is also an excellent location to hold a function or enjoy a romantic meal. No matter what the occasion, you will always receive a warm welcome followed by excellent service and inspired cuisine at The Lamb Inn.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Popped into The Lamb Inn this evening on our way back from Mudeford Quay - to be honest we had gone into two other pubs before the Lamb but had walked straight out of them again as we had received no acknowledgement from staff. The welcome in the Lamb Inn, on the other hand was very welcoming. Angie greeted us immediately & showed us to a nice table by the door which provided a cool breeze. We had a lovely meal there cooked by Leo. We will not hesitate to return to this little gem. Lovely interior, gorgeous beer garden. We were very well looked after and the beer is excellent (so says my husband). We will be telling and taking our friends.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveller1956_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2018

This is now our regular for Sunday lunch having tried many pub/restaurants in our area. Can not understand some of the reviews on here as Angie and Leo are the most welcoming we have ever experienced and the chef produces wonderful fresh meals. The food is all the better for not having a vast menu and smaller portions are perfect for us seniors. Beautiful country setting for al fresco eating.

Thank sueandbobKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Love this pub, I have eaten here on a number of occasions now, the last being yesterday, I had the fillets of bream and it blew me away! I always receive a wonderful welcome from the staff and I have taken my family there as well, who were all made to feel very welcome. The menu is fantastic with lots of choices including different vegetarian options and although I haven’t had a roast dinner there (yet!) I hope too in the very near future. Leo’s pizza’s are the absolute best, like being back in Italy. The setting is lovely over looking beautiful fields. There is a tie up area for horses and dogs are very welcome. For anyone reading this, you must try it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caz3550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Have visited several times however will not be returning. The food and drinks are very good but the customer service and friendliness of staff leave a bad taste.

1  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Will not be going back. Unfriendly staff, long wait, ordered 2 roasts, one vegetarian which had no gravy as veg gravy is not an option. After starting to eat found that there was diced bacon in with the cabbage!! Chef totally dismissive, no apology. Good overall was very poor, turkey roll not fresh carved turkey. Go elsewhere!

Thank ceej212018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Owner at The Lamb, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Thank you for your review however this is somewhat a surprise as myself and my partner deal with any complaint and the chef would not have been involved. Our turkey is not a roll but a fresh turkey supplied by a reputable butcher. Not sure either when you had the roast dinner as you did not mention when you visited... perhaps you have muddled us up with another establishment of a similar name as we have not served cabbage with bacon for several weeks.

If however it was us, we would be pleased if you would make yourselves known to us and we can attempt to redress your opinion as obviously we were not aware when you visited.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lamb also viewed

 
Christchurch, Dorset
Bransgore, New Forest
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Bransgore, New Forest
 

Been to The Lamb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing