We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accommodation in an interesting location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Squirrel Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Squirrel Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cheekycoc...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great accommodation in an interesting location”
Reviewed 6 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Located near Monmouth in the Forest of Dean, this mobile home is part of a small group of circa 10 similar units located off an A road near Coleford/Sling. The accommodation has a very high specification with walk-in wardrobes, and flat screen TV's in every room. Open plan living room, dining room, and kitchen work well and supply of dishwasher tablets was really useful. A little difficult to find as not well signposted but once inside the compound navigation is simple enough. Lots to do in the area in terms of attractions and a wonderful array of pamphlets and DvD's available from the owners. Many extras included by the owners but could benefit from the inclusion of an ironing board and iron. Though the site was pretty empty was pulled up by another individual (assume site foreman) for parking in a visitors car park on the night of arrival, which in the 4 days we were there was not occupied by any other vehicle but that is a minor gripe. Great value in terms of equivalent accommodation in a hotel and I would definitely recommend if you have a need/desire to be in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanprett...
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Squirrel Lodge at Woodlands view Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Very clean spacious lodge with all adminities. Rich @ Sue the owners very helpful in every way. Local places to go Puzzle Wood something different to the norm and ironworks caves very interesting. Just down the road The OrePool Pub and Restaurant is highly recommended (gl16 8lh) 01594 833883

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Thanks for the great review Alan glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Rich
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth B
1 review
“Top class facility with everything one could need. Quality fixtures and fittings.”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great central location with so much to see and do within a very short distance. Very beautiful area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thanks for the great review Ken, hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalesFair...
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were met met by friendly owner Sue who explained what we needed to know about the lodge and nearby amenities.The lodge was perfect,comfortable,well equipped in a small very peaceful setting.There was a walk through the woods just outside the park which we enjoyed taking every evening.Recommended places to visit would be Symonds Yat, Tintern Railway Museum and Clearwell Caves is a definite must.......do not miss this little gem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you again soon. Rich
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nannyrace...
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect spot!”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Squirrel lodge is situated on quiet plot along side other lodges owned by friendly welcoming people. Its well equipped comfortable and clean. My husband and i enjoy mountain biking and enjoy the trails at cannop which is a 5-10 min drive away closer than where we stayed last year. If you want more of a mtb challenge bike park wales is an hours drive away me my husband and son enjoyed a day there it was great fun. Theres not much in coleford but it has a nice little cinema. Cheltenham is good for shopping. We had A great week at squirrel lodge the best lodge we've stayed in so far, added bonus definately was a washing machine so we could wash our cycling gear and use of a bbq really made this lodge stand out for us. Many thanks to richard and sue shame we didnt meet them as we were late arring. We will definately be back!!! .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thanks for the great review, we hope to hear from you soon. Rich
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing