We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, clean and cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Badgers End Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Badgers End Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Badgers End Cottage.
The fully equipt kitchen overlooks the large garden. Dishwasher, Nespresso coffee machine.
Family bathroom with bath and shower attached. Separate shower in en-suite.
Twin bedroom with views across the countryside to the Black Mountains
An ariel view of part of Badgers End Cottage set in private woodland with an adjoining orchard.
Badgers End Cottage includes private spectacular ancient natural woodland.
The rare white stag is native to the Forest of Dean
From the cottage you are able to walk to the renowned Symonds Yat Rock and down to the river.
Spot wild boar piglets!
A carpet of bluebells can be found throughout the months of spring.
Follow the river to the famous Tintern Abbey
Canoeing and other watersports widely available, just 4 miles from the cottage.
Clearwell caves; the ancient natural iron ore mines can be found in the next village.
Local horse riding through beautiful woodland is available in the next riverside village.
Winter walk into the local town, just a 15 minute stroll away
You are welcome to bring your pets bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable, clean and cosy cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Excellent location. Lots of places of interest and walks nearby - Clearwell Caves, Symonds Yat and canoe hire, cycling in the forest, cider making and tours. Plenty to do.
Cottage is extremely well-equipped, clean and comfortable. Even towels were provided and cake awaiting our arrival. The owners were very friendly and helpful regarding things to do around the area and places to eat.
Best holiday we have had for a while and would recommend it to everyone, especially if you are looking for peace and quiet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
Hosting Sarah and her family was a real pleasure. They tried new things like the Weston Cider museum and processing plant. They havent yet been down 'Big Pit', we hope they will come back and try it !
Sarah's card has pride of place in our book. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomPW87
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Thanks Carol”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Sorry it has taken so long to get round to this review. Me, Sam and Ossie had a lovely time even though we got lost in the woods by Symmonds Yat! Everything was perfect; the fire, the location, the cottage was clean and tidy. Exceptional value and we made a load of new sheep friends. We will be back, would not hesitate to recommend. If you are on the fence, don't be, just book!
Love Tom and Sam (and Ossie) x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you. It was great fun to host you and hear your exploits. A good job you had Ozzie your guide dog to lead you home.

The sheep are missing you! Seriously, do come and visit us again soon.
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casperbel...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Thank you to carol and Tony for making us feel at home in their beautiful cottage . We loved it and would truly recommend staying here. If you have dogs it's great , just down the lane you come into fields after fields and it's so peaceful.
Thank you again
Tracy, graham, Bella, Millie and Layla xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Mr and Mrs Andrews were a very special couple to host. Thoughtful, kind with a great sense of humour and a deep love of the forest. They are intrepid explorers and a real delight to host. Fabulous people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 May 2017
Thank you both for your kind comments in our visitors book. I hope the blustery weather and spells of bright sunshine left you feeling full of the Forests natural wonder. We look forward to welcoming you back, Bryan's treats will be waiting!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 May 2017
Thank you all. After you have visited us I always feel like getting on my bike cycling for miles (coming back with the rosy glow!), then walking into the Forest to view the wildlife and finally having a Forest adventure.
You are definitely inspirational and I look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing