We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Pub Food”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Ranked #9 of 38 Restaurants in Coleford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 12 November 2018

Nice traditional pub meal, went for three courses and left feeling pleasantly full.
The starter was nice, I went for olives, bread and dipping oil. The olives were lovely but the bread was pretty standard, could have done with being a nice fresh crusty bread rather than sliced seeded bread but it was ok.
The lasagna was served with salad and garlic bread which was really nice because I really don't see chips as a necessary addition to a pasta dish, perfect meal for me!
The treacle tart was immense and reminded me of my childhood, perfect flavour and served with double cream...YUM!
The guy serving us was friendly and welcoming on entering the pub and maintained the same level throughout the evening.
Overall it was a pleasant evening and I would go back there again especially if I have a hankering for pub food!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emily_21365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

Had a weekend in the Forest of Dean, went to the New Inn for Sunday Lunch, thought £12.50 was a bit steep at first but it was worth it, big Yorkshire Pud, properly roasted potatoes, delicious meat, (we had turkey and chicken), excellent al dente veg. Couldn’t fault it. Well Worth the money. We arrived at 3.15 and still got a meal even though food finished at 3. Good service all round.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

We were staying up the road at Bracelands camp site for an impromptu stag do as our original trip to Barcelona got cancelled at short notice, as a problem with the airline.
We struggled to book a restaurant in Symonds yat so went for an explore what was around locally.
Suffice to say we found this little gem tucked away.
The pub were so accommodating as we walked in on spec.
We noticed they had live music the following night, so decided to spend our final night there.
Considering we were a Stag party (all in our 50's mind) we were welcomed by all and had a fantastic night.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank draddy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Visited this evening with wife and two friends. Lovely food, Locals really friendly. Only problem was access as my wife is wheelchair bound - entry ramp is too steep. Nothing that a barrow of concrete wouldn't put right. Locals helped us in and out - thanks.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeanForester45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Staying at the nearby cabins we found this pub and it was our evening stop for the week. Friendly staff and dog friendly as we had 3 Jack Russell s with us.
Food was exceptional.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

 
Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 
Newland, Coleford
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing