We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, welcoming and fab food”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Ranked #9 of 38 Restaurants in Coleford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Staying at the nearby cabins we found this pub and it was our evening stop for the week. Friendly staff and dog friendly as we had 3 Jack Russell s with us.
Food was exceptional.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2018

Bit of a wait, but we’ll worth it! The pub was packed which is always a good sign. Log fire, smiling staff and lovely food

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

This is a very busy and probably poppular pub. We arraived when it was after 1.30 on a Sunday and took ages to get some attention - mostly seemed to be people drinking and loud Tvs 2 screens no less. Not esepcially outstanding inside and very limited menu fora sunday. Apparently the roast was quite good meat but hte roast potoatoes veryhard and the veg too!1 Never in all my life have I been served roast potatoes or any ;potatoes and hardly cooked veg with a so called risottte - Found to my amazement I paid more for t his on a Sunday than any other day. It was more like rice pudding with peas in it. Or white sauce with a little bit of rice! No applie juice in an area reknowned for it. The pate was probably brought from local super market. I think Sunday was not a day to try it out and as a visitor to the area no occasion to go back.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lorneslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We were staying at Forest Holidays and the New Inn was only a 10min walk cutting across the common. We decided to try here after reading reviews. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious and well priced. The staff were really friendly and service was good despite being really busy. A definite place to eat if you are staying locally.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank zandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

The New Inn is a lovely village pub and restaurant serving hearty food and great cider. Staff accommodated us at short notice on a busy night, and service was good. Well worth a visit. Graham and Catriona

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

 
Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 
Newland, Coleford
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing