We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little bit of paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

The Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard Living area and kitchen view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard
Living area and kitchen view
Living Area
Kitchen
Living Area, flat screen tv
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with en suite
Twin room
Double room
Wet room - disable friendly
Wet room
Luxury shower
Pond
Mother hen
The sheep
Living area
Twin room with vanity unit
Double room with vanity unit
Outside (other existing accommodation)
The ducks
The lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dereham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katuk1980
Ossett
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Upon arrival we were greeted by the lovely Amanda who showed us around our cottage and the farm. She also advised us of things to do in the area and where to eat. The cottage was converted stables and was immaculate throughout with everything we could possibly need. The surrounding farm was brilliant with chickens roaming around, sheep, goats, rabbits and emus. Brilliant if you have children as my daughter helped Amanda feed them every morning. There was also a lovely walk through fields towards a lake which was full of wildlife and you really did feel like you were in the middle of nowhere. The location was a good base and not far at all from Norwich. We would recommend trips to Cromer, Sherringham and Wroxham (the broads) but the best beach by far was Wells next to the sea. It was lovely to just come back on an evening and relax with a drink in the courtyard. I will be recommending Riverside farm to friends and family as we believe it is an ideal place for a relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the location
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C
1 review
“Great quality accomodation - brilliant location”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in 'The Stables' at Riverside Farm which is opposite The Retreat.
The property was really well maintained and very clean. Andy and Amanda are on-hand should you need them, but were in no-way intrusive.
We chose the location as it was close to family that we were visiting but being central it is a great base for visiting all areas of Norfolk.
We have two boys age 6 and 9 who enjoyed visits to the Dinosaur park (10 minutes away) and Bewilderwood (45 minutes away) as well as the outdoor play area at Holkham Hall and a steam train ride from Holt to Sheringham. The boys also loved the table tennis and swingball in the garden and space to play football.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gellymans...
mansfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“all round excellent holiday.”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Thanks Amanda and Andy for helping us to have a excellent holiday in wonderful accommodation and surroundings.We all enjoyed it so much especially Lukas who really enjoyed the animals and tractors.Once again thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the free and easy atmosphere
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fondantma...
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have stayed in Norfolk before and have always had a wonderful time, but on this occasion we also had the good fortune to stay in what can only be described as the perfect location, in a lovely barn conversion .
Add to that the perfect hosts in Amanda & Andy. They really make you feel at home from the moment you arrive.
The Retreat is very well equipped to make your stay as relaxing as possible. From the comfortable bedrooms to the more than adequate kitchen/lounge wide screen TV and free wifi.
Outdoors there is plenty of seating and a bench table to enjoy the alfresco life style if the weather is good.
If you have little ones then I'm sure they will enjoy the array of small farmyard animals, they will be kept amused for as long as they can stay awake.
The Retreat is situated very close to local pub/restaurants the Norfolk market towns, Norwich, and of course the famous Norfolk Broads.
Would I stay there again, you bet I would, would I recommend it to couples, families friends, oh yes I would.
Thanks Amanda & Andy for allowing us into your little peace of tranquility.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matlamb20...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic family stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Amanda was very helpful and made us feel at home and the retreat was well designed and very comfortable for our family stay. The farm animals were a huge hit with our 3 year old and he is still talking about the goats and the lambs.
This part of Norfolk is central and very convenient for all sorts of activities, lots of them for the kids, including trains and boat rides. There are also some great local pubs with excellent food for mum and dad.
I couldn’t recommend it highly enough and hope that we will return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$143
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing