We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“all round excellent holiday.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

The Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard Living area and kitchen view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard
Living area and kitchen view
Living Area
Kitchen
Living Area, flat screen tv
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with en suite
Twin room
Double room
Wet room - disable friendly
Wet room
Luxury shower
Pond
Mother hen
The sheep
Living area
Twin room with vanity unit
Double room with vanity unit
Outside (other existing accommodation)
The ducks
The lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dereham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gellymans...
mansfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“all round excellent holiday.”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Thanks Amanda and Andy for helping us to have a excellent holiday in wonderful accommodation and surroundings.We all enjoyed it so much especially Lukas who really enjoyed the animals and tractors.Once again thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the free and easy atmosphere
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fondantma...
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have stayed in Norfolk before and have always had a wonderful time, but on this occasion we also had the good fortune to stay in what can only be described as the perfect location, in a lovely barn conversion .
Add to that the perfect hosts in Amanda & Andy. They really make you feel at home from the moment you arrive.
The Retreat is very well equipped to make your stay as relaxing as possible. From the comfortable bedrooms to the more than adequate kitchen/lounge wide screen TV and free wifi.
Outdoors there is plenty of seating and a bench table to enjoy the alfresco life style if the weather is good.
If you have little ones then I'm sure they will enjoy the array of small farmyard animals, they will be kept amused for as long as they can stay awake.
The Retreat is situated very close to local pub/restaurants the Norfolk market towns, Norwich, and of course the famous Norfolk Broads.
Would I stay there again, you bet I would, would I recommend it to couples, families friends, oh yes I would.
Thanks Amanda & Andy for allowing us into your little peace of tranquility.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matlamb20...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic family stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Amanda was very helpful and made us feel at home and the retreat was well designed and very comfortable for our family stay. The farm animals were a huge hit with our 3 year old and he is still talking about the goats and the lambs.
This part of Norfolk is central and very convenient for all sorts of activities, lots of them for the kids, including trains and boat rides. There are also some great local pubs with excellent food for mum and dad.
I couldn’t recommend it highly enough and hope that we will return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M
1 review
“I cannot rate highly enough!”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We (2 adults & 3 children) stayed at The Retreat, Riverside Farm for 2 nights whilst competing in a martial arts competition behind held at UEA. The conversed barn was fantastic and provided perfect access to Norwich, The Norfolk Broads and surrounding areas.

We were met by the delightful owners, Amanda and Andy who took time to show us around the farm and give us plenty of advice on the best places to eat and visit.

Our youngest daughter had a great time meeting all the farm animals including the 2 week old rabbits whilst our older teenage sons headed straight for the table tennis table.

The only downside to our visit was it only lasting for 2 days and the long journey home on Sunday!

A definitely 6/5 rating and can't wait to visit again next year!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynsey27
kent
2 reviews
“What a fantastic find!”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Absolutely loved our stay at 'The Retreat'
Booked a last minute break and were lucky to stumble across this beautiful barn conversion. Tastefully decorated, immaculately clean inside and we even had eggs, biscuits, milk, coffee, tea bags and sugar. What a wonderful surprise on arrival.
Amanda greeted us and kindly let the children feed the Lambs in the morning. A gorgeous mini break with perfect surroundings. Thank you so much. We will come again x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;