We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prom Art at Grange over Sands, well worth a visit”
Review of Prom Art

Prom Art
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: On the last Sunday of each month from April to September - 10am to 4pm, Prom Art is a large monthly art and craft fair with up to 80 stalls displaying quality art and craft items. Please note that the promenade is a pedestrian area. If visiting by car, park up and head for the sea front. Please check Prom Art web site / social media sites in case weather has caused cancellation.
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Held during the summer months on the promenade on the last Sunday of the month. Various crafts, paintings, wood work, cards etc are to be seen, free to stroll and view, and then have a drink at the proms little cafe. In the Victoria Hall if raining.

1  Thank CAROL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretShaw, Manager at Prom Art, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Thanks for the positive review Carol. We're packed away now for the Autumn / winter months but will be back on the Prom in Apr 2017. Re the Victoria Hall for rainy days - that's not Prom Art - the hall simply isn't large enough to take the number of exhibitors we have. Rain does dampen things but many exhibitors sit it out and set up once the clouds have cleared.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"last sunday"
in 11 reviews
"every month"
in 4 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 5 reviews
"stalls"
in 13 reviews
"craft"
in 13 reviews
"monthly"
in 3 reviews
"cafe"
in 4 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2016

Called for our second visit to the Prom Arts today, and well worth the visit. We run out cash buying gifts and had to go to the cash machine in Grange so we could go back for more. Keep up the good work artisans.

2  Thank basherdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretShaw, Manager at Prom Art, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Glad you had a good day. Quite a few of our exhibitors do accept card payments but unfortunately the G's on the prom are a little dodgy and sometimes we have to ask visitors to get cash. Maybe G's will be better next year. In the meantime our artists have the closed season to make more art and craftwork. Cu in 2017.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Grange Promenade is the place for a pleasant stroll at any time of week, but on the last Sunday of each month, (throughout the summer) it turns into an outdoor art event with something for everyone.

Artists, sculptors, jewellery makers, photographers, wood workers and a multitude of specialist crafts people, line the prom to display their work.

My wife and I have been going several times a year since the event started and we never tire of the exhibits or the exhibitors.

There is plenty to see and buy with gift ideas you may never have thought of. A great way to spend a Sunday morning or afternoon. And yes there's somewhere to get a cup of tea etc. at the end.

1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretShaw, Manager at Prom Art, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thanks for the great review John. Gazebos are being packed away. Hopefully we'll see you in 2017.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

To be honest, we were not expecting much. Fully expected to see a few amateurish watercolours.
How wrong we were! The standard of work was very good especially the photography and the pottery. There was a really good variety of wares on offer with absolutely no pressure to buy - all in all a lovely couple of hours spent strolling and bought some lovely iron ornaments for the garden. Will definitely visit again because the wares were unusual, beautiful and are the perfect 'out of the box' gift. Very enjoyable and well worth a visit.

1  Thank meplusthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretShaw, Manager at Prom Art, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Our exhibitors do offer a range of quality art and craftwork. Timely reminder that Sept is the last event of the season so a good time to visit if you're thinking about Christmas gifts. Thank you for the great feedback, I'll pass this on to the exhibitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We have been meaning to visit Prom Art for some time and this morning we got round to it and we are so pleased that we did. The promenade, has a long stretch dedicated to artist of all kinds, giving them an opportunity to sell their creations. There is a good range of arts and crafts working in all kinds of medium. I suspect the organisers will have to have vetted the stall holders to prevent it from becoming just another car boot sale, but it most definitely has remained pure. We thought the work on display was of a high standard and very well priced. There's not many places where you could buy a piece of original artwork for thirty pounds or even less. My wife bought a photograph, printed on canvass for just ten pounds. The artists were very friendly and happy to engage in conversations about their work and share a few tips too. We had a really enjoyable couple of hours there.
My photo only shows the back of a few (perhaps half) of the stalls that we're exhibiting today.

4  Thank RobInC113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretShaw, Manager at Prom Art, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thanks for the review Robin. Glad you found it "pure". When individuals apply to be exhibitors we ask to see their work to ensure it meets the standards we set for show/sale items. One of the conditions of taking part in Prom Art is that the artist/crafter has to be on their stall so they can talk to the visitors and answer questions about their work. Many of the stall holders are regulars so the managing committee knows them and knows that what's being shown will be high quality. Pleased that you realised this and took the time to bring this to the attention of others on here. Hopefully you'll be visiting again?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prom Art also viewed

Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to Prom Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing