We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home - a great base!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orlestone House

Sunrise from Orlestone House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise from Orlestone House
Orlestone House Spacious Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Sunrise from Orlestone House
Orlestone House
Spacious Lounge
View of patio from lounge
Kitchen with six seat table and TV
Kitchen showing woodburning stove and American style fridge freezer
Kitchen wood burning stove
Lounge and TV viewing
Main bedroom
Family bathroom with shower
Basement bedroom
Main bed, basement bedroom
Basement shower room
What a view from the prom!
Sunday bandstand - tea, cake or ice-cream?
Ancient limestone formations, Hampsfell
Bay view from Orlestone House
What a view! River Kent and Morecambe Bay from Hampsfell
A view of the garden
Spacious Lounge
Lounge with bay view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Little_Mi...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home away from home - a great base!”
Reviewed 3 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I spent 5 days in the Lake District and used this gorgeous and stylish apartment as our base. Initially I was slightly worried that Grange-over-Sands was too far out from the main sights of the Lake District, however after looking at other holiday rentals and seeing how beautiful this apartment looked, we couldn't resist!

It wasn't far out at all and just like the other reviewers (when it did stop raining), looking at the view over Morecambe Bay was amazing. The rooms look exactly like the pictures and apart from buying food, you honestly do not have to buy any extras. The kitchen has every utensil you will need and there was even a huge range of books and cds in the open-plan living room. The wi-fi was great and really helped us out when looking at little places to visit and eat.

I have two niggles with the place.The first one is trying to find it and then trying to find the location of where to park. You can not park on the main road and beforehand, no map is given of exactly where the apartment is (though there is a visitor information pack in the apartment with a location map once you get in). Obviously once you go back and forth a few times and take your time, the place to park your car can be found just off-road on Methven Close on the right hand side next to the bins. The second is the smell from the dishwasher and how the cutlery and dishes come out with a rancid food smell and some of the remnants of the food and drink. We advised the rental company and am hoping this has been changed for next guests.

I would completely recommend this apartment despite the niggles and overall, found the apartment, Grange-over-Sands and the Lake District quite a lovely place!

A few tips:

If you are new to the Lake District as my partner and I were, a Mountain Goat Tour is perfect and can give you some great ideas of what to explore further.

Sarah Nelson's Gingerbread IS just as good as they say it is - eat it straight away whilst it is warm. However, when once home, place it in the microwave for 10 seconds to soften it up unless you want to break your teeth on it.

My partner and I spend a lovely evening eating at Porto's in Bowness-on-Windermere. The food was fantastic and the Twice Baked ‘Sticky Toffee’Soufflé is to die for!

Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the window
Liked least: Parking and trying to find the place
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2012
A reasonable review and very pleased our guests enjoyed their stay at my Grange-over-Sands apartment and appreciated our efforts to make this an enjoyable experience. Yes, the apartment is a bit dificult to locate, if you rely on Sat-Nav with the postcode it takes you up the side road (Methven Road), which is wrong. Will try to improve the instructions. Regarding the dishwasher - this is a bit of a puzzle to us as we stayed in my apartment shortly after these guests and found nothing wrong with it - salt and rinse were both OK and our plates, cutlery came out fine and no bad smells - I can only guess that the users did not check that the rotors were free and that they were possibly blocked by something - a common problem. This apart, thank you to our guests for their supportive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamblingR...
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring the Lakes”
Reviewed 20 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Just got back from a fantastic week in the Lake district. We stayed at Orlestone House, a beautiful apartment in Grange over Sands. It was a great base to explore the Lakes and was as good as it looks in the photos. The view across the sands was amazing. I had to drag myself away from the window, watching the ever changing light. Very quiet, so expect a great night's sleep. I recommend Higginson's butchers, in the town of Grange, for it's fabulous pies. Will definitely be back."

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newshoots
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday- can't wait to return again this year!”
Reviewed 16 June 2011 for a stay in September 2010
2
people found this review helpful

"Thank you so much for the stay in your lovely flat! We really enjoyed our visit to Grange and felt very fortunate to stay in such comfortable, stylish and well equipped accommodation. The flat was very clean and really well thought out and of course the views lived up to their reputation! Enjoyed a couple of pub meals in the Cavendish Arms in Cartmel – which also fully lived up to it’s reputation for good food, as did the local butcher for their meat, and the grocer. The only problem with our stay was that it was only a week and we could have filled a month with all the walks, drives and trips out to places of interest. Returning home with an even greater hunger for hills & views." 24th Sep 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teacup23...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable stay at Orlestone House, amazing views across bay great location for the Lake District”
Reviewed 12 June 2011 for a stay in April 2011

We have spent a most enjoyable week in your lovely well appointed comfortable apartment. It was beautifully clean, met all our expectations and the welcome bottle of wine most appreciated. Fabulous views of the bay - gorgeous ever changing light and amazing colours. At night we watched the enchanting lights across Morecambe bay, all the way to Blackpool. Grange over Sands is a beautiful Victorian resort, with quaint shops and tea rooms. We had enjoyable walks along the promenade with breathtaking views. We really enjoyed our walk up Hampsfell across to charming Cartmel and lunch in the Cavendish. Easy access to the spectacular views and walks of the Lake District. In all great walking. We particularly enjoyed the visits to National Trust Sizergh Castle and Townend. Our stay couldn’t have been more perfect, thank you - we will be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;