We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enjoyable Lunch Experience.”

The Recruiting Sergeant
Ranked #27 of 162 Restaurants in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Greek, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Recruiting Sergeant is a welcoming pub and restaurant located on High Street, Great Gonerby. We pride ourselves on offering excellent home cooked food in the comfortable surroundings of our traditional village pub. Private Parties,Romantic,Special Occasion Dining, Entertaining clients , Theme nights.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

If you want good food in a high shine establishment, which has just completed a full refit & attentive friendly service, you can’t go wrong with this eatery.

Busy lunch time rush, descent menu, from breakfast options, to wraps to main meals, I had a Chicken Salad Barbecue Wrap which was tasty with a portion on chips on the side, it’s also great value for money to.

Had a sneaky look at the evening menu, it read really well & We definitely will call back & try it soon.

Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

We visited whilst house hunting and were tempted to buy nearby just because there was a good local pub!
Our meals were fine and o h said the beer was good, However we both had an upset stomach during the evening, so will not be returning - or buying that house!

Thank Judith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Food not great. Don't like flaky pastry on steak and ale pie. The chicken burger was tiny and bone dry. The roll was one of the sweet rolls and the chips are Aunt Bessie's. The pudding was the best bit. Won't be going back, I'm afraid. I will say the waitresses were nice and friendly though.

4  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

One of our party of 4 was vegan and had previously had problems finding places to eat, this definitely wasn`t the case here. We contacted Alison, the head chef, a few days earlier and after discussions she arranged a main course and sweet that suited. On arrival the rest of the party decided to have starters and once again the staff came up trumps with a suitable vegan alternative. All meals were served after an expected short delay due to the fact all meals are cooked to order. The staff being attentive and very polite, the resteraunt was very pleasant and roomy. We live in the village and will be going again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lawrence t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALISON M, Owner at The Recruiting Sergeant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Lawrence

Thank you for your kind comments I'm glad you had an enjoyable evening. We hope to see you again soon

kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Last visited this pub over 30 years ago when we lived in Grantham. What a pleasant surprise. Still a good local pub bar at the front plus a lovely restaurant area at the back. Choice from a wide range of beers and a really varied menu. We chose Chilli Con Carne and Steak and Ale Pie. All was served hot and portions generous. Both were really lovely meals and service was very friendly and prompt. Oh and the Potato skins starter was lovely and a single portion plenty for 2 of us to share. How lovely to see this local pub still giving great service with lovely food. Thanks to the Recruiting Sergeant team for a lovely evening. Glynne & Ann

1  Thank Glynne_and_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALISON M, Owner at The Recruiting Sergeant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you Glynne & Ann for your lovely comments. We're really pleased you had an enjoyable evening & hope you visit again soon

Kind Regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Recruiting Sergeant also viewed

Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Allington, Grantham
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Recruiting Sergeant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing