We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dramathon 2018”
Review of High St. Merchants

High St. Merchants
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Deli, Soups
Description: We are a Café, Gallery & Bar located in Grantown on Spey. Our goal is to offer a friendly welcome in a relaxing atmosphere. We are proud to be working with some of the area’s finest artists & artisans. We display unique and traditional hand made products found in our community & those close by.. We pride ourselves in using homemade, organic, seasonal & locally sourced produce for the majority of our menu & hope you can taste the difference. The High St Merchants cater to locals & tourists alike. The aspiration is to create a base & heart for the community where locals can meet & treat themselves to an coffee, cake, lunch or dinner or a wee drink. Two Thirsty Men, sits right bang next to us and its great to have a brewery on our doorstep. Come & taste ‘No74’, an amber ale & ‘Spey IPA’ a great hoppy IPA. We have a selection of Scottish Gins, Whisky & liqueurs. Sit by the fire or outside in garden courtyard, the warm inviting space lends itself to evening dining or a couple of drinks.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a Café, Gallery & Bar located in Grantown on Spey. Our goal is to offer a friendly welcome in a relaxing atmosphere. We are proud to be working with some of the area’s finest artists & artisans. We display unique and traditional hand made products found in our community & those close by.. We pride ourselves in using homemade, organic, seasonal & locally sourced produce for the majority of our menu & hope you can taste the difference. The High St Merchants cater to locals & tourists alike. The aspiration is to create a base & heart for the community where locals can meet & treat themselves to an coffee, cake, lunch or dinner or a wee drink. Two Thirsty Men, sits right bang next to us and its great to have a brewery on our doorstep. Come & taste ‘No74’, an amber ale & ‘Spey IPA’ a great hoppy IPA. We have a selection of Scottish Gins, Whisky & liqueurs. Sit by the fire or outside in garden courtyard, the warm inviting space lends itself to evening dining or a couple of drinks.
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Was overnighting in Grantown-on-Spey for the Dramathon 2018 and happened upon this niche venue. We were fitted in between precooked table times and the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The food hit the spot and the local beer was wonderful. Thank you so much for accommodating us !!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

The food was good - the pickled melon salad is not too be missed; the pizza fresh. Great choice of deserts too.

The decor is lovely, artwork on the walls (that may be purchased), local goodies for sale. The tables are spaced out so no problem with fellow diners being too close.

The welcome was very good, warm and friendly.

So why average? The service was a little on the slow side and we had to repeat an order for alcohol twice to two different members of staff. Unusually, for this part of Scotland, the fire was not lit. Not only would this have warmed us up but it would have made for a perfect atmosphere.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank thesetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

We found this cafe/restaurant completely by accident after a lovely walk through the woods. Only went in for a coffee and ended up having a wonderful interesting lunch. I had a lovely salad and my husband enjoyed a cheeseboard. As we were unsure where to have dinner that night, and as we had enjoyed lunch so much we were delighted when they said we could get a table for that night. Be aware that they only do evening meals Fridays and Saturdays. On both occasions we were looked after extremely well by all staff, even though they were very busy, nothing was a problem and always made you feel very welcome. Food on both occasions was delicious and just that little bit different.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AliB63g66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

We arrived at High St. Merchants in the middle of their busy lunch rush. Despite the rush we were quickly seated by their friendly staff, and enjoyed a wonderful lunch while browsing the interesting artwork around our table. I was impressed by the fresh and well prepared meal that we enjoyed. We even purchased some of the artwork before leaving. Grantown-on-Spey seems like a nice town, and this is a perfect place to eat if you stop there.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank djbpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Had 2 meals here on our recent visit to Grantown-on-Spey. Delicious food, priced well, great service and a lovely ambiance. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank BirdsoftheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed High St. Merchants also viewed

Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to High St. Merchants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing