We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for lunch”

Maclean's Highland Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: In 1978, Maclean's Highland Bakery was set up in Forres. Since then, we've had four generations of the Maclean family creating and baking our products daily. This combined bakery take away and coffee shop is located in the centre of Grantown in the square. Regulars and visitors to the area keep the shop busy. Some come by car, bus, and even bike to sit in and relax with one of our famous Toasties on our extra thick bread. Freshly ground Coffee is also available to sit in or takeaway.
Reviewed 26 October 2018

A very clean and comfortable cafe serving a good selection of delicious sandwiches and cakes and also some tasty homemade soups. Friendly staff who offer an excellent service.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macleans_H_Bakery, Public Relations Manager at Maclean's Highland Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us! Our friendly staff will be waiting to greet you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018

Travelled through from a village near by to get lunch in Grantown on Spey when we stumbled across this establishment. It was very busy and for a group of 6 we were very lucky to get a table as only one of them seated this amount. The food was lovely and as were the people who were serving. Service with a a mile :) definitively one of the best hot chocolates we have had as well!! Really enjoyed our visit and we will definitely be back if we are in and around the area again. Thank you!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Emmaw1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macleans_H_Bakery, Public Relations Manager at Maclean's Highland Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us! We look forward to your next visit with us, we'll have a hot chocolate waiting for you and maybe even a cake to go with it! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Always call in when we are visiting in Grantown on Spey. Great for a coffee and a slice of fresh made cake. friendly staff and clean and tidy surroundings. The take away food is great and they have a great selection of scotch pies.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlM1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macleans_H_Bakery, Public Relations Manager at Maclean's Highland Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us! Our staff will be waiting for your next visit with new cakes for you to try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Definitely one of the best breakfasts I've had and my daughter agrees. My husband had a pie which he said was very tasty. Cake to die for after. Thank you for the lovely service too. Hopefully will be back.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank brutaschloe16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macleans_H_Bakery, Public Relations Manager at Maclean's Highland Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us! We're glad you all enjoyed your food and we hope to see you again soon! We'll make sure we have more tasty cakes for you to try next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Had a wee bit of breakfast here. Pastry and small steak pie. Pastry was very good. Coffee was very good. Steak pie was so-so. Waitstaff wear cute black and blue outfits with matching derbies. Great service.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank itchingtogonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macleans_H_Bakery, Public Relations Manager at Maclean's Highland Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us, we hope to see you again soon! Next time why not try our Lasange Pie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maclean's Highland Bakery also viewed

Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Maclean's Highland Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing