We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing cottage!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elle_84_u...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage! ”
Reviewed 30 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Just returned from a 7 night holiday at this cottage with our friends (4 x adults)

Cottage:
After a 10hr drive, we turned into a stunning driveway and arrived at the cottage around the rear of the main house. We had a lovely warm welcome from the owner (Sandy) and the cottage door was open and ready for us to relax! Thank you so much for the bottle of wine, milk & shortbread!!
Highly recommend ordering a Sainsbury’s food delivery - which Sandy didn’t mind and helped the driver find us!!
Cottage has 3 double bedrooms with double beds. Each room has an en-suite which was lovely. Beds were super comfy!
Kitchen is huge and extremely well stocked. Sandy & Lorraine’s garden was stunning! Croquet set up (Never played before - but have now!) Gate at the rear of garden which leads to a little walk through the forest down to the Spey river (a must!).

Grantown-on-Spey:
For us - this is the nicest village we came across! Handy petrol station round the corner, a Co-op on the high street open daily (HIGHLY recommend Mackies Haggis crisps - delish!) Gorgeous little boutiques and art shops! Bike hire the best here too (next to Co-Op)

Overall we can’t recommend this cottage enough. Would definitely return!
We can’t believe how hot the weather has been - some days reaching 30degrees! Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C
Billingham-on-Tees, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This place is a dream”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This place is excellent starting with the fantas tic warm welcome from the owners. It is a home from home with everything you need to hand. The location for shops and amenities couldn't be better. We couldn't have had a better holiday and will certainly be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3FMB
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A very well appointed cottage in lovely location on the edge of Grantown - a 10 minute stroll from the town centre. The cottage was very clean, comfortable and cosy just as you'd want and is a great base for exploring the local countryside. If you're tall-ish take care upstairs - some low sloping ceilings there!

A word of warning if you're bringing bikes on a roof top bike carrier - I think its remiss that this isn't mentioned or not highlighted on the cottage description but as you enter to the property area there's a leafy arch - which is supported by a solid metal frame and substantial tree branches. This arch was low enough to catch our bikes and consequently damaged to car roof and carrier, even at very low speed...

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeT87
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really nice little cottage.”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Located practically in a wood and within comfortable travel of both Inverness and Aviemore this is an ideal family accommodation. Grantown-on-Spey itself is a nice little town with several unique little craft shops 5 minutes walk away.

Just one little warning, the upstairs bedrooms suffer from a little restricted head room due to slanted roof and the floorboards are a little creaky.

However this certainly doesn't detract from overall experience. Highly recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2015
Just a little thank you firstly for the lovely review. We are so pleased to hear the location and property made your stay one to remember and will be looking out for your next booking!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonT34...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Cottage looked fabulous in pictures but was even better in reality. It sits in beautiful grounds with a childrens' play area and backs onto woods which are accessed via a gate in the grounds. The 3 bedrooms are well presented and all have their own bathrooms. We loved the open plan kitchen diner and living room which meant we could all be together but in our own space. It is also very well heated which was lovely to come back to after days out. The kitchen has everything you could want with a big fridge freezer outside in a shed for beer and wine!!
Well placed for trips out and Wi-Fi for stays in. Our welcome bottles in the fridge were a very nice touch - would highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing