We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding anniversary meal”
Review of Bay of Bengal

Bay of Bengal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bay of Bengal a fine Indian food cuisine, with a daring thought, provoking styles in a sublime setting that oozes temptation. Our restaurant provides you with a fully licenced bar, and very friendly staff to help you choose, So why not pick up the phone and make the call right now. Free home delivery £12 or over
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

Holiday abroad cancelled due to covid so hit the south coast of England as an alternative. Looking for a restaurant to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary and with its many positive reviews the Bay of Bengal in Hayling Island was our selection and oh boy what a choice we made. For a start cleanliness 10/10 the staff were brilliant and their recommendation, having asked what my preferences were, was simply stunning. Tender lamb hit new heights this evening such tenderness can rarely have been achieved before. From starter to desert including a few Cobras everything was perfect. I only wish I wasn't on holiday here and lived round the corner as we would definitely be regulars. If you're in Hayling island and fancy a curry this is the place to go. Bon appetite

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank dean2905l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2021 via mobile

Visited with my boyfriend as a last minute dinner reservation. The food was absolutely amazing and the staff were great too. Would definitely say it’s the best Indian food I’ve ever had, 100% recommend!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank K45997
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2021 via mobile

Really enjoyed our vegetarian meals and great portion sizes not too much so we managed to eat everything. Staff very helpful and friendly but not overly so. Wish we'd found it earlier on our holiday.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2021

Went here while on holiday. The restaurant is smallish, we had a friendly welcome from the team. I highly recomend the Dhansak dishes. They were outstanding. Authentically sweet and fairly hot. Really delicious as were the mixed vegetable bhaji and Peshwari nan bread.
Truly the best flavoured curry we have had in years!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 731joshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2021

I have visited the Bay of Bengal many times over the past few years and always found the staff very welcoming the food fresh and to my liking. I have been more regularly recently and must say the food is excellent. There is a good choice and recent Jalfrazi and Pathia dishes have prompted the review.
Really tasty and spicy (it can be more or less spicy per your taste)
All in all excellent food and excellent value

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trionrugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Bay of Bengal also viewed

Hayling Island, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Bay of Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.