We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Meal for Two”
Review of 7h Spices

7h Spices
Ranked #1 of 122 Restaurants in Hinckley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Description: South Indian cuisine includes the cuisines of the four southern states of India: Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, The similarity among the cuisines include the presence of rice as a staple food, the use of lentils and spices, dried red chilies and fresh green chilies, coconut, tamarind, garlic and ginger. The four cuisines have much in common and differ primarily in the spiciness of the food. Here is a list of 7 spices for South Indian cooking that are most commonly used. 1. Manjal (Turmeric) 2. Malli (Coriander) 3. Milagai (Red Chilli) 4. Jeeragam (Cumin) 5. Kuru Milagu (Peppercorn) 6. Perungayam (Asafoetida) 7. Three C's (Cinnamon, Cardamon & Cloves) In keeping with the 7HSpices tradition, this restaurant is the result of years of research and trials across the four southern states of India, by our team of chefs and culinary experts. This team sourced information and ingredients from noted and celebrated cooks in the region. Gourmands from traditional south Indian communities were invited to sample the dishes as they were being developed resulting in some of the most delectable dishes from the region. Each item on the menu is cooked in its own distinct spices and style. This is a far cry from the idlis and dosas, typically associated with South Indian cuisine, which are traditionally consumed for breakfast in the South of India. For example at mealtimes, there are many specialties, which grace the average south Indian table
Restaurant details
Description: South Indian cuisine includes the cuisines of the four southern states of India: Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, The similarity among the cuisines include the presence of rice as a staple food, the use of lentils and spices, dried red chilies and fresh green chilies, coconut, tamarind, garlic and ginger. The four cuisines have much in common and differ primarily in the spiciness of the food. Here is a list of 7 spices for South Indian cooking that are most commonly used. 1. Manjal (Turmeric) 2. Malli (Coriander) 3. Milagai (Red Chilli) 4. Jeeragam (Cumin) 5. Kuru Milagu (Peppercorn) 6. Perungayam (Asafoetida) 7. Three C's (Cinnamon, Cardamon & Cloves) In keeping with the 7HSpices tradition, this restaurant is the result of years of research and trials across the four southern states of India, by our team of chefs and culinary experts. This team sourced information and ingredients from noted and celebrated cooks in the region. Gourmands from traditional south Indian communities were invited to sample the dishes as they were being developed resulting in some of the most delectable dishes from the region. Each item on the menu is cooked in its own distinct spices and style. This is a far cry from the idlis and dosas, typically associated with South Indian cuisine, which are traditionally consumed for breakfast in the South of India. For example at mealtimes, there are many specialties, which grace the average south Indian table
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Just incredible, we booked 7h Spices simply because it’s #1 on Trip Advisor out of 90 restaurants and it absolutely deserves this top spot.

Food was sublime, and the service is phenomenal, I can not recommend it enough, we’ve already booked to go again!!!

Chicken Shashlik starter was out of this world, and Chicken Jalfrezi was to die for!

Thank you Raj and team.

Mr & Mrs Hewitt

Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven H S, General Manager at 7h Spices, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Oliver, Thank you very much for your valuable time and comment on our restaurant.
We do take pride in catering to our guest needs the best way we can.
I will tell those words to the concerned member of the Staff.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

From the outside this restaurant doesn't look much, but it's really spacious inside. The staff were really nice and the food was great! There is a car park just on the corner next to the pub, as only a couple of spaces outside the restaurant

Thank lianne01527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven H S, General Manager at 7h Spices, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear lianne, Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and special thanks for your recommended information. Looking forward to seeing you again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

As often when away you use TA to help with selecting a place to eat.
As a lover of Indian food this looked fabulous, so after a quick drink nearby I ventured in.
A nice welcome and the friendly staff were always on hand to explain dishes a number of which were new to me.
after a couple of poppadoms, I enjoyed a delicious fish starter served in a banana leaf, followed by a main of chicken served on a crumbled Parotta with a nice spicy taste, quite delicious, had this with. Chickpeas side, a really great meal, will definitely return.
The whole meal around £30 (with 3 drinks) great value, great place.

1  Thank Loveallthingsspanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven H S, General Manager at 7h Spices, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

We very much appreciate your Stunning comments regarding your experience at the 7H Spices.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Was out of a Saturday evening meal with friends and called in here. What a find!
Excellent food, full of wonderful flavours and served by very pleasant staff.
Staff guided us through the menu and served us a great meal, looking forward to returning soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank andrewblaxhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven H S, General Manager at 7h Spices, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Andrew, I appreciate your excellent feedback about our restaurant. We do take pride in catering to our guests needs the best way we can. If you’re travelling to our area again soon, don’t hesitate to call us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Recommended to this restaurant by a friend and we weren't disappointed. Very friendly staff/owners helped us through the unusual menu. We opted for chicken Dosa, which was huge and delicious - a kind of cripsy pancake crossed with a caribbean roti filled with yummy curry. I had the Mangalore Paneer - spicy, aromatic and delicious.
For mains, I had the Tilapia fish in banana leaf in a succulent coconut sauce - divine! Hubby had Erachi Aadu - tender lamb in a homestyle sauce.
We will definitely be back - a new favourite in Hinckley!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven H S, General Manager at 7h Spices, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Thank you for choosing our Restaurant, thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our Restaurant to other people. A big thanks for mentioning about our delicious varieties. Hope your next visit is not far away, looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 7h Spices also viewed

Hinckley, Leicestershire
Hinckley, Leicestershire
 
Hinckley, Leicestershire
Hinckley, Leicestershire
 
Hinckley, Leicestershire
 

Been to 7h Spices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing