We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house in a great location for a group...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kinross, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Ambassado...
1 review
“Fabulous house in a great location for a group get together”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We rented Balgedie House between Thursday 21st September and Tuesday 26th September 2017 for a family get together to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday. We were met by the housekeeper, Mary, who showed around the accommodation which had been set out to suit 8 adults and 7 grandchildren aged between 2 year and 10 as we had previously requested. We found the house perfect from the well equipped kitchen to the sumptuous bedrooms and public rooms. The play/family room was a big hit and was well stocked with a variety of games to suit all ages. The expansive grounds were terrific and provided the children with a safe area in which to explore and play; so much so that we did not feel the need to visit the nearby Loch Leven Larder or the many walks around and near Loch Leven itself. We cannot praise Shona and Charlie enough for their idea in providing such a lovely self catering establishment which, in our opinion, was far better than a hotel. We are so glad that we found Balgedie House and would highly recommend it to anyone planning a group or family get together. We will certainly be considering Balgedie for future milestone family occasions.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 Oct 2017
Thank you, Julie, for such an incredibly lovely review! I am so thrilled you all had such a great time, inside and out! And to hear that you thought it was better than a hotel is wonderful! Thank you for coming and please do come back again as we'd love to have you! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jondarwen
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We rented Balgedie House for my mother in laws 60th birthday celebrations and the place was a delight. Large and roomy so we didn't all feel on top of each other, and tastefully modernised to keep the character of the house but with modern styling. All in all, highly recommended if you're looking for a getaway retreat.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
I'm so pleased to hear the House worked so well for the big family birthday celebration and get together and that you all had a great time. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Much appreciated. We do hope you'll all come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather F
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“5* Luxury accommodation in beautiful Scottish setting!”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The house is beautifully decorated and brilliantly set out for a big family gathering. Everything newly fitted so works and very clean. Beds extremely comfortable, super king double in our room - I am very hard to please and I slept very well. Aside from this being a beautiful house to be inside, the views are truly spectacular. I grew up in Scotland so quite hard to please in this department as well and I found myself transfixed by the changing light and views over the course of the day. A very special place and we will be back!

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
5 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for such a great review! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay - and loved the views so much! We would love to have you all back again - just let us know when! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BisonRat
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We took a family vacation to Balgedie House at the end of May this year. We LOVED it! Everything is wonderful--the house itself is old and stately, but it has been completely modernized inside and the decorating/decor is cozy and beautiful. Mary, the housekeeper, met us and showed us around. She couldn't have been more welcoming. She had the baby cot already set up for us, along with a changing mat and a baby tub. To complete the hospitality, there was a goodie basket full of essential baby items as well as some wine and a food goodie basket for the adults. We certainly felt welcomed and cared for! The house itself is perfect for a large group or multiple families. For a few days, it was just the two of us and our baby. Then we had the grandparents and brother with his family of four arrive as well as some friends. Everyone had plenty of space and no one was on top of each other. The kitchen is fully stocked with plenty of utensils and cutlery/plates,etc. It's very spacious with a large table that fit everyone and there are two dishwashers, which is awesome for large groups. There's a slow cooker and a food blender, so I could even make my own baby food for the week. There's a TV room and another living room, as well as a small study, so there were plenty of places to hang out or escape/work in as necessary. The grounds are beautiful and the view of Loch Leven and the surrounding countryside is amazing. We highly recommend Balgedie House--you will not be disappointed! We've already been in touch to book for next year. Also--the owner, Shona, was very accessible and checked on us via e-mail throughout our stay to make sure we had everything we needed and was very helpful with suggestions on things to do/see.

Date of stay: May 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Alice, I'm so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us and all worked out so well for everyone - big and small! Thank you for taking the time to write us such a fabulous review! It was lovely to have you and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back next year! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareW_08...
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect country retreat, for all ages!”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Balgedie House is amazing! It is surrounded by well kept gardens and countryside, with beautiful views over the Loch. The house has been decorated and finished to a high standard and feels luxurious, comfortable and welcoming all in one! The whole house was immaculate with thoughtful touches throughout including fresh flowers, wine and biscuits.
The kitchen is SO well equipped and great for cooking for a large group/socialising. Bedrooms were peaceful, with excellent beds and there were enough bathrooms/en-suites to keep everyone happy (master bathroom is incredible!). There were 11 adults in our group and we don't have a bad word to say between us about our stay, it was perfect.
Shona was very helpful and easily contactable before and after our stay. She answered all questions and provided everything we needed to know about the house/area. She has thought about every aspect of a great place to stay.
We had a fantastic weekend at Balgedie and I would not hesitate in booking again!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Dear Clare, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I am so pleased you all enjoyed your stay at Balgedie House. I do hope that you will come back again, we'd love to have you! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.