We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely home away from home, can't imagine a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge. Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge.
Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Dining kitchen with double oven, gas hob, fridge, freezer and dishwasher.  Leading to lounge.
Dining kitchen leading to lounge.
Complimentary welcome pack of products provided for guests staying 4 nights or more.
Lounge with dual aspect sea views, TV with integrated DVD.
Lounge with oak, open tread staircase leading to bedrooms and bathroom.
Unrestricted sea views over lawned garden from the lounge window.
South Bedroom - king sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Large king sized bedroom with wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Bathroom with toilet, sink, corner bath and large separate shower. With sea views.
North bedroom, pictured configured as super king.  Room size 5.4m x 3.0m.
North bedroom, pictured configured as twin, with the option of another full sized single. Sea views.
View from private parking.  Guests have use of large lawned garden during their stay.
Private picnic area outside Brekka Lodge with unrestricted sea views.  Beach only 2 minute walk.
Steps and bridge to lime kilns and beach at the bottom of the garden.
Lovely, peaceful beach and lime kiln ruins below Brekka Lodge.  Just a two minute walk away.
Northern Lights from above Brekka Lodge.
Spring view from Brekka Lodge.
Wintery view from Brekka Lodge.
Seals are regular visitors to the beach.
Killer whales have become regular visitors to the shores of Shetland. Seen from Brekka Lodge lounge.
Inside Mousa Broch.  Ferry jetty to this Islands is only 5 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Scalloway Castle.  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Shetland Museum and Archives (incorporated Hays Dock Restaurant).  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
St Ninians Isle and lovely tombolo beach.  Under 10 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Betsy W
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely home away from home, can't imagine a better place to stay.”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Brekka Lodge is a extrtemely comfortable, well appointed, and beautifully located home away from home. Everything we needed was provided, including beautiful views of the sea from the house and perfect weather (weather not guaranteed). It's a short walk down to the beach where we saw seals and the lime kiln ruins. The house is just a few minutes from Lerwick in the quiet countryside. We rarely saw a vehicle on the road but frequently saw the sheep and ponies in adjacent fields. We were five adults and found Brekka Lodge an ideal place for our week's vacation. I can't wait to return to Shetland and stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of the property
Liked least: Wi-fi access was spotty
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2016
Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you all. We were pleased you enjoyed your stay which attending the Wool Week Festival.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benchpeg4
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Brekka Lodge is a rare find; a really well equipped, comfortable, clean house in a fabulous location. Ideally placed, 15 minutes from Lerwick and half an hour from Sumburgh, it is also 5 minutes walk from a rocky beach with resident seal.
During our stay in September, the house was always warm. It is exceptionally well equipped throughout; kitchen utensils, laundry, local information, toys and baby equipment. However, it is the little things that make a holiday cottage a real home from home and Sheila and George provide all these:- milk, butter and homemade chocolate cake in the fridge, oatcakes, fresh flowers on the kitchen window sill, foam bath, tissues, coffee, tea, condiments etc.
The bedrooms are large and they need to be to fit in the huge, comfortable beds and ample storage. Our 2 year old grandson loved the big bath and the bath toys.
My abiding memory of Brekka Lodge will be the view from the living room window towards Bressay and Noss, especially as the sun rose. It is a very special place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We very much enjoyed having you to stay. It was a pleasure to meet you and the rest of the family. We hope you can return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V R
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in many self catering properties over the years and we have to say that this was one of the best. Great location just 10 minutes from all the shops, restaurants and ferry terminal in Lerwick yet situated in a peaceful tranquil location with stunning sea views. Watching the ships and wildlife out there was more entertaining than the TV especially as Euro 2016 was on. There is a little secluded cove about 2 minutes walk from the bottom of the garden and it was lovely to sit there and watch the wildlife especially the seals bobbing about a few feet away. The house itself is built and furnished to a very high quality and is well equipped. The extra large bed was lovely and firm which was perfect for hubby's bad back! The owners live next door if you need anything and they are lovely and welcoming. Highly recommended and we'll definitely be back. Thank you Sheila for a wonderful relaxing holiday in a stunning location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the property
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Brekka Lodge. A warm welcome back is extended to you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
9lj
ABZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our second visit to Brekka Lodge and loved every day of our trip. House very comfortable and cosy with fab views of the sea and local wildlife. Really warm welcome again and nothing too much trouble for Sheila to arrange. Thanks again - you made our Mum's trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and friendly owners
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
It was lovely to have you, your friends and your Mum to stay. We are so pleased you had a lovely time at Brekka Lodge. The sun even shone for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulandel...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning and memorable!”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned from an Easter holiday at Brekka Lodge self catering house in Shetland. The accommodation was of an excellent standard. We were struck by the attention to detail. On arrival Sheila (owner) had left us a wonderful welcome tray of local produce and some home baking. This was much appreciated. There was also a lovely display of daffodils on the window ledge. The house is very well maintained and spotlessly clean. The furnishings are of a high quality. Our boys loved the selection of DVDs on offer after a full day of sight seeing.

The location of the lodge is second to none. Out of every window (including the bathroom velux) there are stunning views. The natural beauty around the house is truly breathtaking. Our children (9 and 6 years) both enjoyed the space outside and pottering on the beach - claiming it belonged to them for the week! A particular highlight for us was seeing a lamb being born in the field next to the house. The farmers who were present were very friendly and we enjoyed several chats with them over the course of our time there.

This was a first visit for us to Shetland. There were delays with flights both ways. However, this could not have impinged on our visit as we had the most amazing time. We travelled up to Unst and down to Sumburgh, enjoying all that the Island had to offer. Home baking was plentiful, even enjoyed a beautiful slice of cake at Sumburgh lighthouse with panoramic views. All being well, we will be back to this Island and we will be seeking out accommodation at Brekka lodge first and foremost.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet your family and have you choose Brekka Lodge for your first visit to Shetland. I am pleased that the boys enjoyed the beach and open surroundings. The lambs are coming on well. I look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$114
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing