We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property for holiday base”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge. Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge.
Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Dining kitchen with double oven, gas hob, fridge, freezer and dishwasher.  Leading to lounge.
Dining kitchen leading to lounge.
Complimentary welcome pack of products provided for guests staying 4 nights or more.
Lounge with dual aspect sea views, TV with integrated DVD.
Lounge with oak, open tread staircase leading to bedrooms and bathroom.
Unrestricted sea views over lawned garden from the lounge window.
South Bedroom - king sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Large king sized bedroom with wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Bathroom with toilet, sink, corner bath and large separate shower. With sea views.
North bedroom, pictured configured as super king.  Room size 5.4m x 3.0m.
North bedroom, pictured configured as twin, with the option of another full sized single. Sea views.
View from private parking.  Guests have use of large lawned garden during their stay.
Private picnic area outside Brekka Lodge with unrestricted sea views.  Beach only 2 minute walk.
Steps and bridge to lime kilns and beach at the bottom of the garden.
Lovely, peaceful beach and lime kiln ruins below Brekka Lodge.  Just a two minute walk away.
Northern Lights from above Brekka Lodge.
Spring view from Brekka Lodge.
Wintery view from Brekka Lodge.
Seals are regular visitors to the beach.
Killer whales have become regular visitors to the shores of Shetland. Seen from Brekka Lodge lounge.
Inside Mousa Broch.  Ferry jetty to this Islands is only 5 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Scalloway Castle.  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Shetland Museum and Archives (incorporated Hays Dock Restaurant).  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
St Ninians Isle and lovely tombolo beach.  Under 10 miles from Brekka Lodge.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris4jul...
Tarleton
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent property for holiday base”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We visit Shetland every couple of years to meet up with family.We have used Brekka twice now because it is modern and spotless.The owners have evident pride in what they do.The welcome pack is a nice touch and you do not have to rush out and buy domestic essentials as most are included.
Brekka is in a lovely aspect with views all round.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We were pleased to welcome you back to Brekka Lodge and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“First class in every respect”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A home from home for us. This has been our 4th stay at Brekka Lodge and we have always enjoyed our return visits. Sometimes a week, sometimes a fortnight's duration. Warm, clean, and well-appointed Brekka Lodge is ideally situated for an exploration of Shetland.
Sheila and George make excellent hosts with their meticulous attention to detail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities and helpfulness of the owners.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2014
Thank you for this lovely review as our most frequent visitors. We hope to have yourself and Thea to stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
159Drake
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Back to Nature”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We chose to go to the Shetlands in March on the off chance we might see the Northern Lights, Brekka Lodge is in an area of the least light pollution. We did not see the Northern Lights, however, it didn't matter because we had such a fantastic time. Brekka Lodge has all the home comforts, even a slow cooker so you can prepare the evening meal before going out for the day. Beds are really comfy, especially when you want to relax after a busy day exploring. The view from the windows are outstanding. A brief walk to the beach you spot a cheeky seal who follows you around the shore line.Sheila, the owner, was lovely, not imposing, coming to make sure we had everything we needed. The Shetlands for a holiday was spot on. Despite the cold, we had a warm friendly welcome wherever we went (we even got the key to the castle to let ourselves in, then pop it back when finished our visit!!) Lovely, lovely holiday, came back feeling refreshed. Would recommend Brekka Lodge to anyone who wants to go back to nature, no big shopping centres, motorways, noisy nightclubs, just peace.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay but disappointed that you missed the Northern Lights. Maybe you'll catch them on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswald_Q...
St Arnaud, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brekka Lodge exceeded all of our expectations - can't wait to return”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

For most of my life the Shetland Islands were merely small specks at the top of the world. A place I had dreamed of visiting all of my life. Earlier this year this opportunity to visit arose so my wife, our 3 year old daughter and I decided to visit. We were looking for somewhere perfect to stay, somewhere that would make this trip memorable.

Some internet searches found Brekka Lodge and from that moment we were hooked. Watching the videos online and reading the descriptions we were wondering if such a place could actually exist. Arranging the booking was a breeze with Sheila keeping in contact with us the whole way through.

We arrived at Brekka Lodge in our hire car following Sheila's clear, emailed directions. When we arrived we were blown away. Set on a beautiful rural setting with views over the water, this large establishment was room a-plenty for our family of three. That beautiful place from our internet searches did indeed exist.

The whole place is well appointed with everything one would need for a trip of 1 night or 1 month. We didn't go lacking in any way, shape or form. Anything we required was on hand. The welcome package was a lovely gesture and much appreciated by all of us.

The location is just incredible. Set just outside of Lerwick the location is rural, quiet and peaceful. The short walk to the water took us to a great little bay. Sitting inside the lodge most of the windows had amazing views. We spent a bit of time each night with a wee malt enjoying everything framed by the windows!

As I said, we did this trip with a 3 year old, and Sheila provided her with a basket of toys to play with. Mind you with the walks and the like she didn't spend a whole lot of time playing with them.

There were only two issues that we had. Firstly, the Northern Lights didn't put on a show. Obviously well beyond any Earthly being, even the ever helpful Sheila. The only other issue we had was that we didn't book Brekka Lodge for long enough, which is why we are returning in June 2014.

I would highly recommend Brekka Lodge, a great base for a Shetland trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and location. Plenty of space and did I mention the location and views?
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2013
We are humbled by your lovely review. Thank you for your appreciation of Brekka Lodge and for the accommodation and service we offer. We very much look forward to seeing you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M
Haworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful place to stay, the best we have stayed in, in Shetland.”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed at Brekka Lodge for one week in May and had a wonderful time. We have visited Shetland many times, always self catering, and we would have to say that this is the best we have stayed in. It was comfortable and immaculate! We were in fact shocked to learn that it had been running for several years as it looked like new. Brekka Lodge is close to the owners home, but they never intruded on our privacy, it was as if we were totally on our own. The location is super, very close to the sea and within easy reach to the main road for visiting Sumburgh, St Ninians Isle and Lerwick. The fact that we have booked again for May 2014 I think says it all. We highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again at Brekka Lodge next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing