We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent!”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to South Ness House.
A traditional stone manse built in 1902
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to South Ness House.
A traditional stone manse built in 1902
The Northlink ferry heads south for Aberdeen The rear of South Ness House overlooks Bressay Sound (the entrance to Lerwick harbour)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Welcome to South Ness House.
A traditional stone manse built in 1902
The Northlink ferry heads south for Aberdeen
The rear of South Ness House overlooks Bressay Sound (the entrance to Lerwick harbour)
Luxurious  bedroom with double aspect views of the sea
The breakfast room with sea views
The breakfast room is available for you to use all day
Looking north toward Lerwick harbour. 
A view from the garden
The Bressay ferry during the day.
The Bressay ferry at night
Sunset over the Ness of Sound, a 15 minute walk along the coastal path (the Sletts)
The Old Tool Booth in Lerwick
A view of historic Lerwick, the capital of Shetland.
The small boat harbour in Lerwick. A 10 minute walk from South Ness House
Lerwick harbour can cater for many types of vessels.
A part of Shetland's maritime heritage
Norwegian vessels moored in Lerwick harbour
The 'Statsraad Lehmkul' sets sail for Bergen in Norway
A view from the breakfast room. 
Cruise liners are regular summer visitors.
'In between weathers'
A Shetland expression relating to the ever changing climactic conditions!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Bren3228
Torquay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 28 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had 3 nights at South Ness House. Our room was large, warm and comfortable with wonderful linens and amazing views. You have a great selection for breakfast and use of the breakfast room anytime of the day to make yourself a coffee with home cooked treats on offer. We found it an easy walking distance into the town of Lerwick, just be a bit more organised than us and make sure you book a dinner reservation. Pippa and Colin our hosts were more than welcoming and provided lots of extra touches that made our stay feel very special.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAlien
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our 'Big Splurg' holiday - excellent B&B, the Shetlands, and a world-class folk festival”
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Pippa and Colin are the perfect hosts. They are warm and helpful, but not intrusive, and the large character house is in immaculate condition. The food was excellent with a selection of good quality hot and cold combinations (plenty for vegetarians, too) that will leave you full for hours. The coffee was from beans from excellent roasters in Edinburgh (we are coffee lovers!). There are snacks in the dining room with many tea choices for the late night bite (we were there for the Shetland Folk Festival and had many late nights out). Our room was huge with three windows and a close-up view of the Lerwick sound facing Bressay, and we slept well in the total quiet of the location. Our private bath was directly across the hallway with a shower and tub, plenty of hot water, extra large towels, and bathrobes. We saw otters, birds, sailboats, ferries, and a giant cruise ship sail through over our six-day stay. If you are lucky, you may also see Orcas (killer whales) in the sound--three came through one day but we were not at the window to see them. There is a handy coat and shoe room to store your wet stuff after walks (it is the typical maritime climate), and plenty of walking is available directly from the B&B and across the sound on Bressay. You will not want to spend your time in the Shetlands on wifi, but it worked well in our room (May weather was relatively calm). We will definitely return to the Shetlands and South Ness House!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omenman
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cancelled by the hotel”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I found this delightful hotel 9n BOOKING.COM so proceeded to book my stay
I paid £375 IN FULL via booking com and it was CONFIRMED by email
I then proceeded to book flights and paid them also ( which were no refundable)
I then recieved an email from the hotel stating they were fully booked and the hotel CANCELLED my booking.
I'm now left with no hotel in SHETLAND and flights I can't get refunded
DISGRACEFUL BEHAVIOUR!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slarson12...
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Location, Rooms and Hosts! The best.”
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a room overlooking the entrance to Lerwick Harbor looking out to sea. The ocean was battered by wind and rain and spectacular. The Knab is a walking trail just outside their door with spectacular views of Lerwick but of the coast of Shetland. The rooms are modern, quiet, comfortable. Adults only with quiet contemplation of the true luxuries of life: good food,good friends and a warm abode. South Ness House is not for everyone but for some of us it is perfection. Have a great trip to Suisse Collin and Pippa.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline82...
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's the extra touches that count”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Situated at the end of a cul-de-sac South Ness House was quiet, not even the floor boards creaked and for a house built in 1902, that's some achievement. Our room was spacious, with plenty of hanging and drawer space so we were able to fully unpack - no living out of a suitcase. . A wide selection of breakfast choices were provided, but it was the constant access to the dining room, with coffee and a varied selection of teas together with fruit and home made cakes which really made this accommodation stand out. Add in the friendly welcome from Colin and Pippa and you have the perfect holiday destination.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing