We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice - recommended”
other travellers have booked this property
welcome to Buchanhaven Holidays
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
welcome to Buchanhaven Holidays
view from patio area at house sitting room area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
7 reviews
welcome to Buchanhaven Holidays
view from patio area at house
sitting room area
kitchen area
doors to patio area
wet room - raised toilet seat and shower chair available
twin bedroom
summer house for guests use
play area for children
play area for children
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kirkwall, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
pauls_smi...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice - recommended”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Small cottage situated no more than a 5-10 minute walk from city centre - a nice walk too along the sea front with a short hill at the end of it. private parking. Tesco a two minute drive or ten minute walk for provisions.

This is a dementia-friendly cottage and there are a few touches which makes that obvious and must be great for dementia sufferers and their carers but nothing that impinges on anyone else.

Clean, beds comfortable and a nice patio off the lounge. Bathroom facilities all good although with the shower being dementia friendly - walk-in type (i.e. no lip etc to retain water) we did find that despite our best efforts the water from the shower spread over the entire bathroom floor requiring a bit of mopping up. Not a major issue though.

Kitchen well stocked, cooker, microwave, fridge, washing machine etc.

Wifi wasn't working on our visit but Marilyn acknowledged this as she was changing internet provider at the time and we got money off because of this.

Lovely wee place and would definitely use again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location of cottage and modern-ness of flat
Liked least: Nothing significant
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Shower needs both curtains closed to prevent water spreading over floor and internet now fully operational again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
342tang
State of Bremen, Germany
1 review
“Lodge was ok but bed and sofa bed was awful”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The owner was nice, very child friendly but the bed and sofa bed was awful, we were not able to sleep. The place was clean.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Beds and mattresses have now been upgraded, thanks for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kirkwall hotels

pdmatthew
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Central cottage suitable for any small group.”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

3 friends and I came to celebrate a friends birthday, among other things, to Orkney. We chose this cottage because of it's proximity to Kirkwall. We are all in our 30s and were looking for somewhere to rest our heads in between traveling around Orkney and enjoying the local nightlife.

The host provided the perfect place with anything you could think of available for us in terms of amenities. And it's only a 15 min walk into the centre of Kirkwall

My only, small, issue was that there was the WiFi didn't work properly and was so weak we couldn't get a connection on our portable devices (It did work on laptops in some rooms).

That being said I would happily return and may well do with my wife & family. I have recommended it to colleagues and family alike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squiddy10
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Adorable little cottage with everything you need”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

your hostess Marilyn keeps this sweet cottage shipshape for any travelers, but it is specially prepared for those traveling with a dementia-affected partner or spouse. It would be easier to care for someone in that situation and the place is well outfit for this - wet room with seated shower, no rugs to trip on, doors labeled. That being said it is a snug and warm place to chill out after your ferry voyage to Orkney. Around the corner from Kirkwall - too far to comfortably walk for most, but a few minutes drive to Tesco if you want to cook for yourself - this self catering cottage has pots, pans, glasses, silverware, corkscrew, the lot. Marilyn keeps the place stocked with sugar, tea, and instant coffee, and there is a fridge and freezer for guests to use. The TV in the living room has a DVD player if you want to chill out. There's a washing machine too, so bring your HE soap sachets. The one thing I'd add is blackout curtains - in June, the sun NEVER goes down. A great find and a sweet peedie cottage in Orkney. We would love to come back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron S
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Lovely Little Place”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great wee cottage and Marilyn was very helpful. Clean and tidy with lots of little extras provided. Nicely adapted for the disabled but some of the corners were a little tight for a wheelchair. The mattresses on the beds were too soft for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Owner, Marilyn.
Liked least: The mattresses
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing