We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Albert Hotel(Kirkwall)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
St. Ola Hotel(Kirkwall)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Shore(Kirkwall)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
West End Hotel(Kirkwall)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$158
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ayre Hotel(Kirkwall)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orcades Hostel(Kirkwall)
Book now, pay at stay
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
100
150
83
51
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
150
83
51
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreading roomoverlooking the harbourdining room was fulltraditional hotelcrabbit datedold fashionedlambfull scottishan evening mealgreat roomorkney islesstayed here for one nightkippersthree nightslovely viewlocal produce
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hotel changed hands & though the jury is still out on this, the hotel is still going on in its usual way.
Though the new management has taken away things like Local reductions, as in the former owners kept rooms aside at the cheaper rate to help patients travel to Aberdeen for medical care. I being one of these patients tried to book a room & was told £125 was all they could offer.
I guess we will have to see how it goes, but in doing things like that they may find their rooms empty in winter, as many an islander used the Kirkwall 's islander rates, which helped fill the rooms in the closed season & one thing I learned in business was, you look after your regulars, maybe the new folk, will change their policy on this later.
Otherwise, it is still an OK place for a bite no matter the season or reason.

Room Tip: No suggestions
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank christinerousay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whatever the hotel might lack in modern facilities is more than compensated by its charm from a past era and the excellent staff. We had a comfortable, quiet room overlooking the harbour. The decor of the bar and dining area are of the Art Deco period - and the food served is of the best. We ate two delicious dinners there - superbly presented and fish cooked to perfection. The lift is a gem and should be preserved - providing guests do as it says and close the gates properly it works efficiently. The only minor fault is breakfast - they give individual service but we feel it would be much improved if they laid everything out for self service. We cannot agree with the
bad revues previously written - no doubt those persons like modern buildings and can't appreciate the character and charm of age.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view on the third floor.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Maureen1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here two weeks ago for a couple of nights. I appreciate the hotel has recently been bought over and is due to be upgraded but it seriously needs it now. Everywhere we looked we saw old furnishings and no justification of the price we paid for the accommodation. My room was "ok" in that it overlooked the harbour and was clean. However all the furnishings were very old and not well looked after. You could sit on the loo and have your feet well into the bedroom. Both taps in the sink ran hot water so that made brushing teeth fun. My friend's room was awful (so bad even the barmaid told us to complain). Breakfast was ok but limited in choice. Shame for such a central hotel so here's hoping the new owners act quickly

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view
Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank GWHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Hotel is physically old fashioned but maintained well. Our room was not fashionable but it was clean and comfortable. The staff, however was exceptionally considerate, helping us in unexpected ways. A full, delicious breakfast was included, making it an even better value. The location right on the harbor is central and convenient.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MarinaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A family wedding brought us to the Orkney Isles and the Kirkwall Hotel. This old Victorian building sits in a great central location and overlooks the harbour. The front desk reception staff are obviously well used to checking in guests off the late ferry and were extremely welcoming, kind and helpful, particularly as there had been an error made by the booking agency we had used. On taking the wonderful old style lift to our room we found ourselves on the front side of the hotel overlooking the harbour.
The room was clean, warm and spacious.The bathroom was more than adequate for our needs with plenty of hot water. Although the bed was extremely comfortable and offered a very good night's sleep, a light sleeper might find the noise levels from the street into the early hours could present a problem.
The large tastefully decorated residents lounge and dining room are both comfortable and relaxing and the bar staff very friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately did not have evening meals on the two nights we stayed due to wedding arrangements, but the breakfasts, table served on both mornings were excellent.
A pleasurable stay and would most definitely return, and please don't ever get rid of the lift, such a feature!

Room Tip: street noise can be quite noisy on front side of hotel particularly at week ends.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank donella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews