We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing cottage accommodation - awesome for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalets 080.JPG Chalets 082.JPG
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Chalets 080.JPG
Chalets 082.JPG
Chalets 084.JPG
Chalets 093.JPG
Chalets 111.JPG
Chalets 139.JPG
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kirkwall, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JonaFras
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing cottage accommodation - awesome for anyone who wants to stay in Orkney for a while!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed here for 4 days in July 2013 and enjoyed it very much. The cottages are on the outskirts of Kirkwall, in a very peaceful area, but within easy walking distance of the city center and supermarkets (2 big ones - extremely handy for self-caterers). The rooms are large and bright, warm, immaculately clean, all amenities work as advertised. Free parking in front of the cottage... With 2 rooms (one with a double bed, the other with 2 beds), it's perfect for 3 or 4 people. The price was also extremely reasonable! All in all very warmly recommended for anyone who wants to stay in Orkney for more than a couple of days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself... just a great place to stay in!
Liked least: The kitchen bin could be a bit larger, but that's just a nitpick.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr-S-Whit...
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, convenient and value for money”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in May 2012

We stay at High Park every year for work purposes. Christine, who runs the cottages, is extremely helpful and friendly (thank you for all of your help over the years).

The cottages are well equipped with everything that you could possibly want during your stay. They are very clean and well maintained. All of the fixtures and fittings are of good quality.

The cottages are situated next to the Highland Park Distillery, and so whisky supplies are never far away in case of emergencies. It is a short walk (15-20 mins) down the hill into the main parts of Kirkwall, where you will find whatever you are after. Most people who visit Orkney will have a car to visit all that the islands have to offer and of course these cottages have plenty of parking.

We are about to stay in High Park again in a few days, and I am sure that the stay will be as good as ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean and comfortable.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ab_roody
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed in the chalets last week. We booked three to accommodate the whole family. Everything finished and furnished to a very high standard, very clean and very comfortable. We would all like to go back and would have no hesitation in recommending to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherlock6...
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A snug, comfy home from home, with everything we needed"”
Reviewed 13 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived in the week when the ash cloud did, and the wind / rain was more typical of November than May. Having said all that we really enjoyed our stay in our lodge. We had everything we needed as far as facilities go, and were very comfortable.
Possibly the only drawback is that it's right on the edge of town, but it is right next door to a hotel reportedly offering fine food (we didn't try it out), and more to the point right next door to the Highland Park distillery.
Thoroughly recommended to visitors to Kirkwall, but you either need a car or to be very happy carrying all your shopping up the hill from town.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lanarkshire
Reviewed 28 June 2010 for a stay in May 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$112
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing