We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
41
28
8
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
28
8
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the barn wedding venue stayed here evening reception lovely grounds would recommend this hotel to anyone country hotel large bathroom lovely venue wedding breakfast bar menu an evening meal a lovely stay comfy bed marquee oulton retreat
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Stayed here 2 nights in one of the outside rooms, it was ok, tv needs upsizing! not sure about all the vegetation outside the window gives you privacy but makes it dark.
room and bathroom were clean.
The hotel had 2 weddings and a party that night, can't say we were not concerned, but everything went great.
Breakfasts are great and the staff are both friendly and efficient.
I think £12 supplement for the filet steak is over the top (the steak would not cost that!) but it was a good steak.
Obviously a wedding in a marquee is very loud but when it finished it went quiet very quickly. Huge lovely grounds

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pinkholidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

My husband and I have just come back from here and have to say how impressed we were with the hotel and the staff. The hotel is very old and does need some work doing to it but the bedroom we had was huge with a very comfortable bed and a large bathroom. We had breakfast 2 mornings which was great and an evening meal on the Friday. The 3 course meal on Saturday for the wedding guests was amazing! The hot food was served hot! And everything else was so tasty. The staff could not do enough for us. We were in the barn which was perfect for our do! The marquee was used on Friday but the music was finished by midnight.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Christine54b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

great place plenty of parking space which is free, nice little bar while waiting for the wedding, and the wedding venue beautiful, then off to the grounds where the marque was holds over 100 people, all the staff were brilliant , we stayed in the hotel which was good maybe it needs a bit of TLC , but we weren't there to look at the hotel, we loved it and will pop in when we are that way

Room tip: any they all are the same apart from a family room and easy access room for disabled (mum)
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hugho492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Stayed 1 night here on the eve of my mother-in-law's funeral in Lowestoft. Not a happy visit but this hotel was ideal. We also hired a room there to have a wake for which they supplied the food.
Room : Very spacious (see pic), decor a little tired but the important thing was that the bed was great and the furniture very comfortable.
Food : The dinner, breakfast and the wake catering were all excellent. Good homely food, not fine dining but very tasty.
Staff : Very laid back but very helpful. Found it a bit disconcerting that they wanted no deposit for providing food for 25 people.
All in all a very pleasant stay given the circumstances. They provide excellent value for money and get all the important things right.

Room tip: Some rooms are in outbuildings. We had rooms in the main house which was perfect for us.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Where to start??...
If your after a wedding here then parkhill is the place to have it. The barn was perfect for the occasion for both the ceremony and the evening reception. The outside space also made it a nice rustic feel where guests mingled at night. We were allowed free reign on how to decorate and Ruth and Tim were so flexible with what we wanted. If it’s outside caterers or in house catering their open to anything! The wedding breakfast was just right and again, we could pick what we wanted. The breakfast in the morning was also very nice. Nice to see such a family run business doing so well and busy. The price was also very reasonable for hiring the venue compared to all the other places we looked at!! If we did it all over again then Parkhill would still be number 1 :) Thanks so much Ruth and family

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank allangravenor1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews