We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Had a memorable stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Studio by the Sea

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gav152
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a memorable stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here for 6 nights at the end of July and I completely agree with all the other glowing reviews we had read before our trip. You will not want for anything here and if you did you can guarantee the host Annabelle would provide it for you without hesitation. Special mentions for the excellent breakfast and biggest, most comfortable bed you will ever sleep in but, in truth, everything was exceptional.

We used the Studio by the Sea as a base for exploring the surrounding New Forest, the Isle of Wight and Lymington itself. If, like us, you want to use the car as little as possible, take the leisurely walk down the adjacent Monument Lane to the Isle of Wight ferry port (about 10-15 mins) or into Lymington (25 mins - there is a quicker route but this was the best) and catch trains there to Brockenhurst and the New Forest. We tended to have a meal and a few drinks in Lymington and used Lymington Taxis to get back in the evening (less than £4 from Lymington and they were very good).

I would highly recommend staying here and wouldn't hesitate to return if we visit the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
We are so glad you enjoyed it, thank you for your lovely review. Best wishes Annabelle.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrailBlaz...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly relaxing retreat!”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having just come home from several days stay at the studio by the sea , I've never had such a peaceful and more relaxing time down in Lymington in all my life ( and we've been visiting often for many many years!).
First off, myself and my partner were greeted in such a warm and friendly manner that we instantly felt relaxed and at home. In such a cozy little place, the character and charm was second to none, with every detail carefully thought out, theres nothing to want for! All the little touches that just make for a wonderful getaway! From the handmade soaps, fresh smelling towels and superbly comfortable super kingsize bed (that we found difficult to leave in the mornings!) to the freshly baked bread with fruit, pastries, yoghurt, coffee, tea (and more) all delivered daily! There's little else you could ask for!!! All served with a friendly smile from our host Annabelle who even managed to bring the sunshine for the whole time we were staying! (Now that's what I call service!!!)
We really didn't want to leave after such a lovely time and can't recommend this little nook in Lymington enough! Within an arms reach of the main highstreet, there's plenty around and we'll definitely be staying again!!!
A superb little spot that you'll definitely enjoy! We couldn't have had a better time!
Thanks again to Annabelle and John for such a fantastic stay! :)

Freddy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Thank you Freddy and Becks, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon at the Studio. Best wishes the Kings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22karenba...
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A boutique bolthole to relax and unwind in wonderful surroundings”
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Studio by the Sea is a bolthole of decadence, relaxation and the best breakfasts you could ever wish for. Annabelle was the perfect host. Her attention to detail in the studio was amazing - New England meets modern Shabby Chic - but there was nothing shabby about this accommodation. On arrival we were presented with a bottle of Prosecco, as we were there on our 'mini' honeymoon. Each morning we were presented with freshly baked bread, pastries, yogurts, fruit, coffee or tea and every morning it was different. We were made to feel very welcomed and although the studio is next to the main house, you would never know. Set in wonderful rural surroundings and only a 15-20 minute walk into Lymington this boutique studio has everything you need to relax and unwind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you for such a kind review, we are so glad you enjoyed it. Wishing you much happiness in your married life together. Come and see us again! Best wishes from the Kings x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma H
Emsworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful, charming property for comfy B & B break.”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Studio by the sea is very close to Lymington , in the New a Forest , but very peaceful and secluded. Spotlessly clean , gentle colours and lovely comfy bed. Owner has thought of everything to make a short visit special. Gorgeous breakfast in a hamper, help if you want anything but unobtrusive if you don't. We wanted peace and quiet but all arranged and it was great. We will visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely decor and comfort.
Liked least: The weather ! Actually did not effect our stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Studio by the Sea - Perfection !”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

If Carlsberg did B & B's this is truly a wonderful place to stay, absolutely stunning !!!
Annabel's attention to every little detail just makes it the perfect relaxing retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very large andLeaving very comfortable bed
Liked least: Leaving !!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing