We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Break”
other travellers have booked this property
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Your kitchenette, which is stocked up with your breakfasts. Will be topped up during your stay.
Outside seating area.
private bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
view of Defoe House with independent annex to the left.
Lymington river nearby.
Beautiful walks on your doorstep.
Lymington cobbled street.
Lymington river, where you can catch ferry to Isle of Wight.
Close to Exbury gardens, famous for its spring and autumn colour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
James K
Dartford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family Break”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A fantastic retreat for anyone looking to stay in or around the new Forrest. Our little family stayed two nights here and as soon as we arrived we received the warmest welcome . Vanessa does a fantastic job of making you feel welcome and the food she supplies is fantastic. The accommodation was perfect for our needs and it is kept in the highest order by Vanessa. Not only did she provide us with little treats like eggs from her own chickens and homemade cake but she went above and beyond throughout our stay. My only complaint was that we did not book a longer stay. But we certainly will next time. Thanks Vanessa and sorry the review took such a long time to write.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2018
Thank you for your lovely review and I hope to see you all again very soon. Vanessa x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L
1 review
“The perfect place to stay with a very warm welcome!”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The owners of this holiday rental were amazing ~ very friendly and helpful! I stayed with my 3 children and used the accommodation as a base to explore The New Forest and visit tourist attractions. The accommodation itself was very clean and tidy, was more than big enough for the four of us and very comfortable. The breakfast Vanessa provides, which awaits you in the kitchenette, was truly impressive... you will not be disappointed! Thank you Vanessa for a very pleasurable and welcoming stay. We'll definitely stay again!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review we look forward to welcoming you all back here again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
We are so pleased that you had a lovely stay with us. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Martin S
2 reviews
“Great stay and location”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A lovely location not far outside of Lymington we really enjoyed our stay.
We was welcomed with a birthday cake and Vanessa couldn't of done more to make us feel more welcome.
The continental breakfast was great way to start the morning off before we went of bike riding and days out.
Quiet lanes for bike riding with a 10 minute ride into Lymington.
Our stay went too quickly and would definitely recommend a stay at Defoe.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your birthday weekend with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
425robert
Essex , UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“well worth a stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This a part of a detached converted outbuilding next to the owners home , it is beautifully decorated and has all you need . It was spotlessly clean .

Its in a lovely New Forest village , convenient for visiting many locations .
Breakfast is cooked by yourself using a microwave and supplies are topped up on request , just leave a note . Offers include fresh eggs from the families own chickens , smoked salmon , gorgeous ham , fruit juices , tea and coffee , home made breads and jams ,

We were well looked after and thoroughly enjoyed our stay .
yes its not cheap but well worth the money, there is a large sofa bed so a small family could easily stay spreading the cost .

There are many nearby walks and just walking around the village is great .

I would thoroughly recommend , the only very minor downside is a four foot six bed , a five footer would be great when time comes for a replacement
Thanks for a beautiful stay in the New Forest .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure meeting you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing