We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heart of the New Forest - great hosts...”
other travellers have booked this property
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
109 reviews
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Your kitchenette, which is stocked up with your breakfasts. Will be topped up during your stay.
Outside seating area.
private bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
view of Defoe House with independent annex to the left.
Lymington river nearby.
Beautiful walks on your doorstep.
Lymington cobbled street.
Lymington river, where you can catch ferry to Isle of Wight.
Close to Exbury gardens, famous for its spring and autumn colour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
happy_exp...
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heart of the New Forest - great hosts, accommodation and breakfast”
Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Upon our arrival at Defoe House in Norleywood, we were greeted by Vanessa, who was warm, welcoming and provided us with suggestions when we asked advice about what to see and where to go for an evening meal.

Before we went out exploring, we had a look around the accommodation, which is separate from the main house and comprises a bright, large double bedroom, a kitchenette and a substantial bathroom (shower over the bath). We also found two slices of very delicious home made lemon drizzle cake in the tin in the kitchen, perfect to have with an afternoon cuppa - thanks Vanessa!

There were also vases of daffodils around the room, a TV/DVD player, free wi-fi, a dining table and a sofa. Everything you need whether staying for a couple of nights or for a week.

You really feel like you are experiencing the New Forest by staying in Norleywood. We came across so many ponies and donkeys within seconds. Lymington and Beaulieu are also a short drive away. We went to Lymington for our evening meal, down at the Quay.

We had an issue with the car during our stay so had to call out the RAC. Vanessa and George were very helpful and gave their home no. to pass on to the RAC as we didn't have much in the way of mobile reception. They also spoke with them and provided directions to the property.

Breakfast in the morning was plentiful, very tasty and all homemade. We didn't even need lunch afterwards!

For a taste of the New Forest, with generous and friendly hosts, we highly recommend you book a stay at Defoe House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little touches - daffodils in vases, homemade cake
Liked least: The noise from the toilet as it had a Saniflo system (or similar)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2013
Lovely to have met you both, hope that your car is still okay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMoor...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home from home”
Reviewed 18 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed at Defoe House following a recommendation from our friends. Nothing was any trouble for Vanessa, whom we initially contacted via. Email. We stayed for three nights and were made to feel welcome but at the same time given the privacy that we wanted.

The room is part of an outbuilding and it’s the perfect size for a small family. We thoroughly enjoyed listening to Vanessa’s advice of the local area and where to go and explore and of course, the most delightful cooked breakfasts and coffee brought to us each morning. Our daughter even had her own little cooked breakfast too, a cute touch and certainly made her feel all grown up too.

For us it’s the small things that matter. We’re extremely well-travelled, citing South Africa and the Maldives as recent holiday destinations, but just opening our fridge and noticing that there was a fresh bottle of milk and yoghurts for our toddler really went some way in our eyes, not forgetting the cake too!

For the perfect mini break Defoe House is ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The breakfasts and being away from it all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarryKni...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best find so far!”
Reviewed 18 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed in the lovely cottage annex which was light, spacious and had all of the facilities you could want, felt very homely straight away, loved it!
Vanessa was a delight, made an absolutely lovely breakfast (the fresh eggs were perfect) and was happy to help, whether it be giving advice on somewhere to eat or where to go for a walk/bike ride, to even offering to pick us up with our bikes if we got lost!
Had an absolutely lovely time overall, such a gorgeous place and lots to do in the surrounding area, but also a perfect place for a lazy day or evening in! Still felt private even though you are near to the house.
Just be careful not to drive past the entrance to the track, go slow or it is easy to miss! Also best to have a car or bikes for meals out, unless you go to the local pub (unfortunately we were not there for long enough to fit this in!).
We would love to come back during the summer for a bit of a longer stay, and would recommend it to family or friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2013
Thank you, looking forward to seeing you both again in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautifully situated, friendly and comfortable stay”
Reviewed 14 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Lovely stay with small kitchenette and comfortable bed. Right in the middle of country walks and a very friendly pub nearby.

I would definitely recommend Defoe House to anyone looking to escape to the country and the heart of the New Forest

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2013
Thank you, glad that you had a nice weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Secret Hideaway....sssshhhhh!”
Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed in this quaint cottage annexe whilst at a friend's wedding reception last weekend - what a find!

The accommodation was comfortable and the breakfast was delicious!

We came home feeling so relaxed and have promised that we will return in the summer to explore the New Forest more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility
Liked least: having to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2013
Thank you, glad that the wedding was such a lovely occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing