We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wye go anywhere else for a gorgeously located...”
other travellers have booked this property
A warm welcome awaits you at  The Roost at Vine Tree
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm welcome awaits you at  The Roost at Vine Tree
Nestled in the woods...... .... and very quiet and private
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
A warm welcome awaits you at  The Roost at Vine Tree
Nestled in the woods......
.... and very quiet and private
Private patio area and parking
Romantic dinner for two!
Spacious and comfortable lounge/diner
Relax and watch TV .....
....or sit and quietly read!
Had a long day? .... this is the perfect place to rest!
Countryside views from the bedroom
Spacious walk in wardrobe/dressing area
Well equipped kitchen for all your self catering needs
Woodland view from kitchen window
Modern bright shower room with spacious shower cubicle
Vanity basin and storage
Outlook view from The Roost
'Somewhere over the rainbow ........'
Amazing sunsets!
Access  to apartment via rear staircase
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lorn23
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wye go anywhere else for a gorgeously located get-away?”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

There's a warm welcome in the valley from Barry and Carol, natural hosts who have built a little rural idyll for guests to enjoy and soak up the tranquillity of unspoilt Herefordshire. This place makes me wax lyrical, vistas of English countryside at its very best viewed from the bedroom window. The Roost may be on the site of the old hen house, but you won't feel cooped up by any means. Spacious, comfortable, immaculate and modern throughout, it's a home from home with a well equipped kitchen and nice practical touches such as foil and food storage boxes for picnics.

We took a wild walk from the Roost through woods, meadows, ravines and footpaths down to Kerne Bridge on the River Wye and were treated to a lovely view of Goodrich Castle and a nice drink at the Inn on the Wye. On our second day we took our bikes to Cannop ponds for a delightful 12 km spin through the forest. You can easily hire bikes there too, from £14.50 for 3 hours or £19 for a day, and there's an accessible trail for families.

Barry and Carol were great hosts and we hope to visit again and try our hand at canoeing on the Wye next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No dishwasher
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lbebbingt...
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolute Bliss”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Had such a lovely stay... where to start!

Carol and Barry are the most welcoming hosts i've ever met, helped in any way they could and made our stay that bit more special. They live in such a beautiful location and clearly their love of where they love shows through in their gorgeous apartment - The Roost.

So comfortable and with everything you could possibly need, fresh and clean so really nice to come back to after a long day exploring places old and new.

Couldn't recommend The Roost highly enough, perfect apartment, stunning location and the kindest hosts. Carol and Barry knew just how to add the right personal touches to make it a home from home.

Look forward to coming back and seeing you both again and have already recommended the apartment to various friends.

Thank you so so much for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - Carol and Barry were the icing on the cake, such lovely people!
Liked least: Having to leave!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
1 review
“Rural Excellence”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is a great location if you appreciate our beautiful countryside with wildlife in abundance. Our hosts, Carol and Barry are a warm and friendly couple who went out of their way to make us welcome.
The apartment is modern and finished to a high standard with first class facilities and adequate parking.
The location is convenient for exploration of the Forest of Dean area and the Brecon Beacon national park.
We look forward to a further visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanderer7...
WIGAN
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Perfect for 2”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Having read numerous reports on Trip Advisor, Before booking, I was not disappointed. What can I now add that hasn't already been said?

Much larger than I expected and our first self-catering holiday to have a separate dressing room. The Roost has its own modem and WiFi is good. One of the best showers, when self-catering. Water hot within seconds rather than wasting water waiting for the cold water to clear. Sun coming through the kitchen window and the glass in the top half of the rear door in the morning and the bedroom window in the evening, what more could we have wanted. It is a credit to Barry and Carol and I would like to take this opportunity to thank them for the bottle of wine.

One photograph missing on Trip Advisor relates to the rear entrance - see my photograph. The steps are not a problem, I'm 82 and my wife 79. However, you are advised to hold on to the rail provided. Strongly recommended on Trip Advisor and I would like to add my recommendation.

One final suggestion. Your SatNav might, if you are arriving from Ross-on-Wye on the B4234, suggest turning left up Bull's Hill - DON'T. Keep on the B4234 turning left approximately 2 miles later - signposted Bishopswood Church. This road is wider and wouldn't entail either of you reversing quite the same should you meet a car coming in the opposite direction.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan3...
2 reviews
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed for a long weekend, The Roost at Vine Tree is a beautiful, relaxing place to stay, accomodation is wonderfully presented, well equipped and finished to a very high standard, the walk in wardrobe/dressing area in the bedroom is every women's dream, we live in a busy town and the peace and quiet was amazing, well situated for exploring the surrounding area, Carol and Barry are great host, and very informative on the local area, can highly recommend The Roost and will definately return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$107
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing