We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of The Victoria Inn

The Victoria Inn
Ranked #5 of 45 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Victoria Inn has been run by Tim & Liz Hore since 2008. We pride ourselves on being a 'Traditional Pub, with Traditional Values'. It has this year (2014) been awarded the Taste of the West Gold Award - awarded for locality of produce used, ambiance and high standards of service. We are the only pub in the South Hams to hold this prestigious award. National finalists In Licensee of the Year, finalists in Devon Life Family Friendly Dining Establishment as well as previous Fish & Chip award finalists. We welcome children with their own menu selection of home cooked food and dogs with their own Al a Bark menu! Bookings to eat with us are advised as we get extremely busy and hate to disappoint customers.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Excellent food and service. Lovely pub would highly recommend the food. It was so good we went back a second night during our stay.it gets very busy so best to book. Table upstairs is best.

Thank usuallyhappy384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Owner at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear usuallyhappy384

Thank you for your super 5star review and we’re delighted you had such great visits to us.

There’s no better recommendation than personal recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim and the award winning Team Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 1 852 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Been here several times before and never fails to provide, simple food done good, good atmosphere, worth a visit and you’re dogs are treated to their own menu highly recommend

Thank Redpec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Owner at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear redpec

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for being such a frequent visitor, we very much appreciate your support.

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim and the award winning Team Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

My wife, her friend and me ate twice here in the last week, on the first visit 2 of us had the crab, smoked salmon and crayfish dish which was very good, but of the 6 plates we had over the 2 visits they were the only pleasurable meals. On out 2nd visit I had a poor burger, the beef had been ground so much it made the texture like a cheap frozen burger, my wife had a fish fingers sandwich, the fingers just tasted of fat and they were in 2 slices of standard white bread, her friend had a fairly uninspiring cheese board. The service also disappointed us as the waitress could take a drinks order in the garden when we arrived, there was very limited shade and I only saw one brolly in the whole garden, which we felt was quite irresponsible of the owners especially as the canopied area was full. The good classification I've given to this review was only attained because of those fish dishes on that hat first visit. I used think this and The Fortescue were of a similar standards but that is no longer the case.

1  Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Owner at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear StuartA

I’m sorry if you felt we weren’t up to the standards of previous visits?! Nothing has changed, Butgers still supplies by Farmer from last year, fish fingers still our own, bread still a local baker and all umbrellas up this morning when I called in?! Our Chefs are still the same fab team and we’ve continued to receive awards for our food and service.

We don’t offer table service in the garden as standard, in keeping with all the other pubs in town. If someone came to you at the beginning of your visit I applaud them for being helpful.

Having a choice of places to visit in Salcombe is always a good thing and I hope you continue to enjoy Salcombe for many years to come.

Best wishes

Liz & Tim and the multi award winning TeamVic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

This a great place for an evening meal. We booked a table for 5 and we all thoroughly enjoyed the various selections we made from the menu. At first glance you may think this as just another gastro pub however the food and service at the Victoria are definitely a cut above the rest. We will certainly return here on our next stay in Salcombe.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mr David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Owner at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Mr DavidO

Thank you so much for your super 5 star review and we are absolutely delighted you had such a fantastic experience with us.

We absolutely pride ourselves on being a traditional pub, that serves great local produce. We hope to continue doing doing this for a long time to come.

Warmest wishes,

Liz & Tim and the award winning Team Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We recently visited The Victoria Inn for a Sunday evening meal and left feeling disappointed having read the previous reviews.

Service was good, but we were disappointed to find the menu was limited as our first and second choices were not available.
The meal we eventually select were fine.

On reflection having spent a week eating out in Salcombe, we felt that The Victoria Inn was over priced and very average when compared to other restaurants in the town.
Certainly wasn't number one on our list.

2  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Owner at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear KevinR

It’s always a huge disappointment to us when a guest is not as happy with the experience they had at the Vic as we would like.

I don’t know what your choices were that were limited, but I’m really pleased that you enjoyed your eventual selected meals.

I’m sorry you found us ‘over priced & average’, that’s not the response of the majority of our very happy guests.

However, I’m delighted you enjoyed your visit to Salcombe even if we were not to your taste.

Best wishes,

Liz & Tim and the multi award winning Team Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Victoria Inn also viewed

 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
Salcombe, Devon
 

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing