We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 432)
Filter reviews
1 432 results
Traveller rating
799
359
180
67
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
799
359
180
67
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews estuary view complimentary gin and sherry welcome drink lighting system on arrival lovely hotel cinema room white company toiletries little touches car park crab steam room stunning location beautiful room restaurant staff following morning relaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1 432 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Loved the location when we arrived and the ease of car parking but very disappointed upon entering the hotel. The only room I could book was inland so I was not expecting sea views however the room was right on the road on ground level and the traffic noise was horrendous, we couldn’t open the window due to traffic fumes and people walking right past the window (black out curtains would have been much better rather than the blinds that were for decoration only and hardly covered the window) from 7am we were woken by traffic noise that didn’t stop all day. We have come home more tired and stressed than when we went. Definitely not worth the price we paid. As we were so unhappy with the hotel we ate out every night rather than in the hotel restaurant we just wanted to be away from the place as much as possible. Salcombe itself is lovely and can highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sherpa782236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason P, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you ofr taking the time to write this review, I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss these issues with you and ask that you contact me directly on jason.parry@harbourhotels.co.uk. I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We can not thank Milly and her team enough for making our wedding day so memorable.
From the moment we first went to view the hotel through to our wedding day itself, we could not of asked for a better service. The team were always in close contact, answering all of our queries or providing advice on making the day run smoothly and their experience in having weddings at the hotel really shows through. What is particularly impressive is the attention to detail and the degree to which they care about making the day as special as possible for us. Nothing was ever too much trouble and all our guests really appreciated the warmth and and quality of service that they were greeted with.

The hotel itself is fantastic and the views around it are simply stunning. We are both so incredibly grateful to have been able to stay in the sea front villa, it really made what was already a superb weekend even more magical - and waking up to the view of the stunning Salcombe estuary the day after our wedding is something we will never forget.

Once again we would like to pass on our sincere thanks to everyone for making our wedding day so special and we will be back very soon!
P&K 12th May 2018

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pb2018718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason P, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear pb2018718

Thank you so much for your kind words, I will certainly pass on your thanks to Milly and the Team. I am so pleased your Wedding Day was so special. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

I took my parents away for a few days to this hotel and what a great treat was in store! From the effortless arrival, car parked for you and luggage delivered to our room to the exceptional staff who couldn’t have been better.
We were looked after everyday and everything you need for a relaxing break was here.
Some lovely touches; blankets for sitting outside if chilly (clearly not needed as we arrived with a heatwave) binoculars for watching the yachts and sailboats gliding by, free Sherry and gin in the bedrooms, and the softest pillows I’ve ever slept on... all wonderful.

The spa is just gorgeous and so peaceful and everyone was so friendly
A special note to George in the restaurant, who’s lovely manner made my elderly father feel so comfortable
This hotel has service sorted!
We will definitely be returning

Well worth the extra to have a room with a view!

Thanks to all at Salcombe harbour hotel!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank annie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason P, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Dear annie t

Thank you so much for wonderful review, I am so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thank you also for singling out George, he is an asset for us and so good at looking after our guests. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

We had a one-night deal through the Daily Telegraph. Although the room was said to be rear facing we could indeed glimpse the estuary (Room 401). Very well appointed room with sherry and gin- as well as a glass of Prosecco on arrival. Brilliant pool and steam room included in the price. Dinner was a set meal of three choices for the three courses. We could not fault any of the ones we had. Little doubt that it is the best hotel in Salcombe- though parking can be a little daunting as it is on a hill. Lighting in the room is quite a challenge as there are about 5 choices of lighting. Very welcoming staff- all well trained and professional. Would come again. Interestingly it has its own cinema.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oilmanDorset_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason P, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Dear oilmanDorset_U_K

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we very much appreciate the feedback and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

First the positives: great location, beautiful view from our room (402), comfortable bed, attractive decor, friendly service at breakfast on our second morning.

Now the negatives: the valet parking arrangement is not very user-friendly and certainly cannot be at owners' risk. We have two sets of keys and inadvertently left one set in the car, which meant that it would not lock when the person had parked it, and was left unlocked overnight with its contents. Nobody called us to let us know that it wouldn't lock, although it should have been obvious as there is an insistent warning beep. It would help to know the parking arrangements in advance as we would have packed differently.

As another reviewer commented, our room was a bit shabby in places - the bath/shower thermostat came off in our hand, there was rust and mould in the bathroom, the drainpipe over the balcony was rusty and had leaked onto the sun loungers, and the curtains were frayed. Two of the bathroom light bulbs were not working.

On the Saturday morning we made the mistake of asking for cappuccinos with our breakfast. This put made the waiter's already charmless mood worse. He said that the espresso machine would need to be switched on and warm up and that it would take 15 minutes, presumably in the hope of dissuading us. In the event it took 22 minutes and was cold when it arrived.

By contrast the waiter on Sunday was charming and seemed surprised when we asked him if it was OK to have cappuccinos. They arrived straight away and were very good.

If you are going to charge these prices (£400 per night) there needs to be more attention to detail, and a warmer friendlier attitude from some of the staff, both reception and dining room. Also the upgrade auction is tacky and gives the impression of rapacity. The previous week we stayed in the Arden Hotel in Stratford on Avon where we had an excellent experience from start to finish for a third of the price - it can be done!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneItaandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason P, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear AnneltaandDavid

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I am sorry that there were aspects of your stay that marred your experience. I would very much like to investigate these points in order to address them for you and ask that you contact me on jason.parry@harbourhotels.co.uk in order to be able to gain some further details. I thank you once again and look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews