We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 425)
Filter reviews
1 425 results
Traveller rating
794
358
179
67
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
794
358
179
67
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews estuary view welcome drink complimentary gin and sherry lighting system cinema room on arrival lovely hotel white company toiletries little touches car park crab steam room stunning location beautiful room out of season relaxing stay following morning
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 1 425 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

First the positives: great location, beautiful view from our room (402), comfortable bed, attractive decor, friendly service at breakfast on our second morning.

Now the negatives: the valet parking arrangement is not very user-friendly and certainly cannot be at owners' risk. We have two sets of keys and inadvertently left one set in the car, which meant that it would not lock when the person had parked it, and was left unlocked overnight with its contents. Nobody called us to let us know that it wouldn't lock, although it should have been obvious as there is an insistent warning beep. It would help to know the parking arrangements in advance as we would have packed differently.

As another reviewer commented, our room was a bit shabby in places - the bath/shower thermostat came off in our hand, there was rust and mould in the bathroom, the drainpipe over the balcony was rusty and had leaked onto the sun loungers, and the curtains were frayed. Two of the bathroom light bulbs were not working.

On the Saturday morning we made the mistake of asking for cappuccinos with our breakfast. This put made the waiter's already charmless mood worse. He said that the espresso machine would need to be switched on and warm up and that it would take 15 minutes, presumably in the hope of dissuading us. In the event it took 22 minutes and was cold when it arrived.

By contrast the waiter on Sunday was charming and seemed surprised when we asked him if it was OK to have cappuccinos. They arrived straight away and were very good.

If you are going to charge these prices (£400 per night) there needs to be more attention to detail, and a warmer friendlier attitude from some of the staff, both reception and dining room. Also the upgrade auction is tacky and gives the impression of rapacity. The previous week we stayed in the Arden Hotel in Stratford on Avon where we had an excellent experience from start to finish for a third of the price - it can be done!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneItaandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason P, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear AnneltaandDavid

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I am sorry that there were aspects of your stay that marred your experience. I would very much like to investigate these points in order to address them for you and ask that you contact me on jason.parry@harbourhotels.co.uk in order to be able to gain some further details. I thank you once again and look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

A hotel in a beautiful waterside location with stunning views across the water to the village of East Portlemouth and its sandy beaches. There is no parking for non-residents but we found road-side parking close by. The reception area was warm and welcoming with fire burning and comfortable seating. However, our experience from that point fell well short of our expectations.
After a short delay, we were seated and then after a further ten minutes we had to ask if someone would come to take our order. A further fifteen minutes ensued before our drinks arrived. The two coffees were the coldest I have ever been served and we had to ask for replacements. The reaction of the waiter was not one of apology and one felt quite uncomfortable for asking. It was a further seventeen minutes before the sandwiches and cakes arrived by which time the drinks were almost cold. At no time were we asked if we would like further drinks. As for the food; whilst the sandwiches were meagre, the cakes and scones were really very good. A pity that the service let it down. When we pointed this out, we were told that they were very busy though the restaurant was less than one third full. Overall quite disappointing.

Room Tip: We were non-residents
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason P, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear Lesley B

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of the Jetty Restaurant here, whilst I am pleased that your initial impression was warm and welcoming I am of course disappointed after that. I would very much like to address this for you and ask that you contact me on Jason.parry@harbourhotels.co.uk. I thank you once again and look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Lovely views over the harbour and wonderful staff Joe and Helena esp great fun and great service, wedding room was nice and private with a great terrace and fresh pizzas, the Jetty restaurant was a wow factor place lavish and stylish and the rooms comfortable clean and with free gin and sherry wow with great views over the harbour.

Room Tip: pay extra for terrace over the harbour
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lookout111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason P, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear lookout111

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us. We very much hope to be bale to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

If you want a relaxed, luxurious hotel in an idealic Devonshire village, then look no further. This place has it all. Fantastic views of the estuary, that, when the sun hits it at a certain time of day, looks like a river of diamonds. The beach across the estuary is easy to reach by a little boat, which runs every 5 minutes. Nearby are restaurants, pubs, little boutiques, and beaches. They even have their very own distillery.
The hotel rooms are fresh, clean and modern, with a yatching theme throughout the hotel.
The restaurant is open and the quality of food is high.
We are definitely coming back again, maybe in the winter next time :D

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Careysfunkywear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason P, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Careysfunkywear

Thank you so much for your kind words and I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Salcombe so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again and the winters here are beautiful as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Highly disappointed with the service in this hotel. It has an amazing view but sadly was in desperate need of updating its common areas. Very dirty furniture. It’s in an amazing bay with all the views. Unfortunately the price is not in line with luxury it promises.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason P, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Anna S

I very much appreciate you taking the time to write this review, I am also sorry that your experience was marred by poor service. Please could I ask that you contact me directly on jason.parry@harbourhotels.co.uk in order for me to address this personally for you. Thank you once again adn I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews