We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very sweet”
other travellers have booked this property
'Tuscany in the Chilterns'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Tuscany in the Chilterns'
The old barn surrounded by rolling hills and valleys, amazing views vaulted limed beams for a calm relaxed light feel
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
'Tuscany in the Chilterns'
The old barn surrounded by rolling hills and valleys, amazing views
vaulted limed beams for a calm relaxed light feel
relaxed sitting area with commanding views
Shillingford bridge, 8mins by car through open countryside
a peacefull river thames nr Dorchester-on-Thames, 11mins by car through open countryside
Henley-on-Thames, 17mins by car, through open countryside, across the chilterns
Goring & Streatley, 8mins by car, through open countryside
Goring sailing club, 8mins by car, through open countryside
Whitchuch-on-Thames, 'Little winters tale scene', 11mins by car, through open countryside
Sonning-on-Thames, 23mins by car, through open countryside, across the chilterns
beautiful poppy fields along the ridgeway nr Ipsden
another enchanted picture of the bluebell woods at the start of Grimm,s Dyke, the Ridgeway, 5mins
'sheep may safely graze' amazing views and Ipsden sheep outside the villiage pub
Dramatic scene where the Thames cuts through the hills 'the goring gap' wind in the willows country
Natural stone tiles, Edwardian telephone brass taps, separate showers above, full length baths
100% percale cotton bed linen, organic wool large king size beds for better nights sleep
dining area, handmade oak kitchen and terrace area with great views
Antique dressing table, writing desk with fresh flowers always in the barn for your stay
beautiful vaulted bedrooms with kind size organic wool beds and 100% cotton bed linen
panoramic views from Ipsden tuscany in the chilterns
wallingford by relaxed evening light 4mins by car
early morning views of the Chilterns
views across the Chilterns and the Thames, from Streatley
Spring blossom, and blankets of brilliant Van Gogh yellow hills surround the Barn
Spring has arrived and alive in the Hobbit shires
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wallingford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Harald D
Alford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very sweet”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A very cosy flat and a very kind and enthusiastic owner who even filled the fridge with lovely food.
I have never see so many red kites in my life before!
Very comfy beds and lovely bathrooms. Blinds were a bit too thin, so struggled with sleeping-in. Views from the house are a little over-hyped but you can reach lovely areas by walking or in a few minutes by car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The enormous number of red kites
Liked least: 'amazing views over Chilterns' were overstated
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2015
Dear Harald, thank-you for staying, I think the blinds in the bedrooms are normal blinds not blackout, I'm going to see if I can add a second blind to the windows so guests can choose, everyone is so different, as for instance I sleep in the main farm house and have millions of fairy lights on all night against all the brick walls, as I cant cope with the dark, also I just wonder if you pulled up the blinds in the main area which incidentally are black out blinds, because they looked like they weren't touched, as you would have had lovely far reaching views across the fields, also I wish I could have shown you around the area so you could see where everything is, its so beautiful, but the weather was crazy, like being on a north sea oil rig, so your trip was limited in scope but I'm glad you had a great walk and maybe found the local pub, I,m getting my boat fixed and will let you know so you can come out on it, it really opens up the area from a different dimension
kind regards
alexander
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueButte...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Host with the most!”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband, myself and my cousin and his wife spent a delightful 3 nights at The Old Barn. Alexander, the host went out of his way to make us feel welcome. His tour of the region, complete with witty, insightful history that he gave us went above and beyond our expectations. The Barn is simply charming, decorated in a cosy, homely fashion by Alexander, with each item, clearly very thoughtfully placed. Food items for breakfast were supplied, and were enjoyed by all. The beds were comfortable to sleep on, secure parking for our hire car and bucolic scenery. We highly recommend The Old Barn, and would be delighted to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Alexanders enthusiasm
Liked least: Poor pressure in shower, but this seemed to be a problem throughout England.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blowers79
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“English charm for a long weekend!”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent four nights here with a young baby, looking for a getaway and this was exactly what we were looking for. Living in a city we wanted a country cottage type feel where we could relax and take in some country air. As we have a very young child it was important to have the mod cons that we enjoy at home and have everything that we have access to at home, on our vacation. This place was perfect as it does have a Tuscany style feel whilst only being an hour and a half away from London.

The owners Alexander and David are friendly and thoughtful, and was some other reviewers have stated stocked the place with the essentials. When we have rented places in the past, one of the issues is that you need to get things like oils, spices etc to cook with. Here you don't and to be honest if there was anything that we needed we could probably just ask the guys.

The barn itself is essentially a two bedroom granny flat, where Alexander has watched people operate and therefore modified accordingly. As such whilst it is small (we don't think that you would want too many people in there) it works really well with two large bathrooms, two amazing bedrooms and a living come kitchen. It was warm and cosy and the kind of place you would want to hunker down for a few days when it is cold outside.

The location is great in the oxfordshire countryside, so that we could visit local towns and villages, go for walks and enjoy the beautiful English countryside. For us this is the type of place that you would use as a weekend getaway whenever you wanted a few days away rather than getting your own place in the country.

Alexander has described the place as Tuscany in the Chilterns - I can see what he means in terms of natural beauty. I would however say it is more English charm given that it is more Range Rovers, Cream teas, Sunday Roasts and pints of bitter by the fire. Beautiful England at its best!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet T
Abingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning Cottage, beautiful location - highly recommended!”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Would highly recommend The Old Barn for a picturesque and relaxing break in Oxfordshire. The cottage is beautifully decorated, cosy and comfortable aswell as being charmingly quirky. The kitchen is well equipped, and beds are extremely comfortable. We received a warm welcome from Alexander who couldn't of been more friendly and helpful - even providing cream teas on arrival! Would definitely recommend a visit to the King William pub just down the road. The surrounding countryside is also lovely, and we definitely plan to return to explore this further!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful interior decoration
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The5Quinn...
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing, highly recommended.”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What a brilliant place to stay, so happy we chose The Barn. Beautifully furnished but still managed to be comfortable and relaxing. The beds were large and very comfortable and the gorgeous linen was very much appreciated. Each bedroom had its own full sized bathroom; both were finished to a very high standard with lovely soaps and dressing gowns provided. The owners were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. On our arrival there was some delicious organic bread, butter, cream, milk and coffee, so we could immediately relax and feel at home after our long drive.
We would be happy to visit again and we highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The clean and comfortable standard of everything.
Liked least: We have nothing to complain about
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing