We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Great Lyde Pub & Restaurant
Open today: 12:00 - 02:00
Save
Review Highlights
It’s a shame

We come here for a roast on Sundays and it’s good valve for money. Popped in on a Friday night for... read more

Reviewed 18 May 2018
thee_soulman
,
Yeovil, United Kingdom
via mobile
Hmm

Went for a carvery, the food was fine BUT I didn't approve of a bulldog being allowed on the dining... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2017
LMB400
,
Yeovil
via mobile
Read all 38 reviews
  
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
17
7
3
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
7
3
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Went here for the first time in 18 months. So many previous landlords were not able to turn this place around and bring it into the 21st century. However, we were pleasantly surprised when we went this time. The new landlords have installed TV,s for the Euro's with one outside and a few inside with a big screen too.
The new staff were very welcoming and friendly as well as all the other patrons. It was like we alway go there. We have lived in the community for 17 years and need a good local as the others in the area are awful. This is turning into the local family pin that the area is craving . I'm only diving four out of five as some internal upgrading still needs to be done, but I'm sure that this will happen soon. Won't be long before it really is the Great Lyde.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Petehiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

I visited the Great Lyde with a group of friends and was made to feel very welcome by the new owners. They have done a great job at making the place feel warm and welcoming with a great menu and delicious food!
The customer service was excellent and the food was delicious! Best creamy mushrooms I've ever had!

I will definitely be visiting again!!!

Thank you for a great evening xxx

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank tinajm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Food was ok but customer service non existent !!
Lots of confusion as to what was available on the menu, plates not cleared, would have liked a pudding but no one waiting on tables.

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank slap2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Had a meal in the Great Lyde last night and I must say the new owners have done an amazing job.
The food was absolutely delicious and service was second to none. Thank you to the team who made us all welcome and our evening so special.
Great job will definitely be eating there again.

Date of experience: March 2016
7  Thank barty2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

We have seen a lot of changes in the great lyde in the past few years , we chose Sunday evening to give it a visit with our dog , we just turned the corner into the car park when 2 jack Russell dogs came hurtling towards my dog and jumped on him and was very intimidating my dog was very shaken ,the owner was very casual and someone shouted it's a public car park , so we did not go in the pub , as we did not want the same thing to happen on the way out

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank Cazstar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews