We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Stags Head PH

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Banbury, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
shazzzz
England
1 review
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for just one night, which was a shame, would love to return. The room is fresh and charming, so peaceful, with a delightful view over the little lane and cottages. On the ground floor with your own front door, so access is easy. Our hosts were very friendly and hospitable, and we could not fault the food. Definitely exceeded our expectations. And the location is good too, in easy reach of Chipping Campden, Bourton on the Water, all the usual Cotswold haunts.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: idyllic location
Liked least: small shower room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality in a beautiful peaceful location”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Made to feel at home from the start the owners went out of their way to be friendly even asking us what time we would like breakfast in the morning so we could have a lie in. Loved the room which was spotless and the little extras like the mini fridge with fresh milk and orange juice. The food served in the pub was delicious as was the breakfast. Thank you for a lovely stay I'm sure we'll be back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob N
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked this for the night as part of our trip to Oxford. As soon as we arrived we felt so at home. Room was perfect, such a comfortable bed we didn't want to get up in the morning!

Breakfast was perfect and we had everything we needed in our room.

Lovely family owners who could not do enough for us...a perfect place to spend an evening after a day out, or time eating and drinking...and not forgetting the beer which was spot on!

Could not recommend more and such amazing value. We will 100% go back the next time we are passing through

Many thanks again
Rob and Alba

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanderlus...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely little room”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at this guest house. The en suite room itself was very cosy and comfortable and the owners have made a lot of effort with little extras (tea, coffee, biscuits, milk and juice in the room). The continental breakfast which was provided was great. We also ate in the pub for dinner and the greek food on the menu was very good. Overall, great value for money, I would recommend to all.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbirket...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent value”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfortable and clean. We appreciated the tea/coffee and biscuits.The owners were very obliging and hospitable. The inclusive continental breakfast was very good. We had an excellent dinner in the pub restaurant. Overall it was excellent value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing