We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Absolutely lovely

A magnificent old building with beautiful gardens, Broughton Castle is a lovely place to visit. The... read more

Reviewed 17 August 2020
lindamV7611EC
via mobile
Interesting place to visit.

We decided to go here whilst staying in Banbury - the castle was very interesting with lots to see... read more

Reviewed 6 August 2020
Rachel1973C
,
Southampton
via mobile
Read all 348 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Banbury
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
258
77
12
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
258
77
12
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fortified manor house well worth a visit limited opening hours tea room tea and cake grounds are beautiful lovely place to visit interesting history sunny day moat roof shakespeare lord rooms visitors cafe oak
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2020 via mobile

A magnificent old building with beautiful gardens, Broughton Castle is a lovely place to visit. The house has a lived in feel, with different architectural styles and periods blended beautifully together. Tea and cake in the gardens after our tour ended our visit on exactly the right note.

Date of experience: August 2020
1  Thank lindamV7611EC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2020 via mobile

We decided to go here whilst staying in Banbury - the castle was very interesting with lots to see and read about.
The grounds were beautiful with well kept gardens and lovely views.
The tea room was nice with friendly helpful staff and a good choice on the menu.
All the guides in the castle were helpful and informative too and made the whole afternoon very pleasant.

Date of experience: August 2020
1  Thank Rachel1973C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2020

This castle has a very homely feel as it is still lived in by the family as it has been for centuries. The current senior member will be 100 in September. There are some beautiful rooms to see with portraits and historic wallpaper. You can relax in the gardens after touring the house.

Date of experience: July 2020
2  Thank Wyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2020 via mobile

Visited as a treat for my sister-in-laws birthday, we had a beautiful afternoon tea in the garden then a look round the house. The guides were brilliant, knowledgeable and friendly. The moat and grounds are beautiful.
I would thoroughly recommend a visit.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank ally-with-a-y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2020

Broughton Castle gardens and house are well worth a visit, set within the moat this old fortified manor house is picture post card delightful. We went on a sunny day to make things even better, the gardens although small are well tended with an abundance of annuals and shrubs. The house of which most is open is an historic treasurer trove of 500 years of British history, experienced help is on hand in each of the castle rooms to explain anything and enough signs and labels etc to get a feel of the history. It was very Covid friendly with lots of space between visitors with a reduced amount of people in the castle at any one time, not rushed at all but a short queue to initially get in. There was also a very nice cafe in the castle grounds which served most items you could want, very reasonably priced and friendly helpful staff. Middle of the road price to get into the castle but you can spend several hours there so good value. As a bonus we paid our entrance fee to the Lord of the castle which was different, a hands on approach by the owners.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank easilypleasedNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews