We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fabulous family get away”
other travellers have booked this property
Indoor Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Indoor Pool
Stunning Property Spacious Grounds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
11 reviews
Indoor Pool
Stunning Property
Spacious Grounds
Peak District At It's Best
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katie A
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage but not 4* and certainly not luxury. Disappointed”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in the Badgers Wood cottage over Easter, with my mum, two young children (age 3 and 18 months) and small dog. We paid nearly £600 for a 4 night break. We we're expecting 4* luxury as per the website, however this is not what we found. The furniture in the whole place was mis-match. Modern oak chests of drawers with 'shabby chic' style bedside tables in the bedrooms. The lounge was a complete hash of pine, painted wood, shabby chic and leather sofas. The website says the cottage boasts "carefully co-ordinated fabrics and furnishings". Yet again, this was not the case. Mis-match cushions and curtains in both lounge and kitchen. NOT 4*.
Before booking I asked if the cottage was suitable for young children and was told that they had never had any issues with toddlers in the past. I consequently went ahead with the booking.
When we arrived, the first thing that met us in the hall way was a cast iron spiral stair case. I was concerned about this immediately. The website did indicate a spiral stair case but there was not image of them. I would not have booked if I'd have seen it. The stairs were a complete death trap. Myself and my 62 year old mother had to carry the children downstairs every time as it was completely unsafe for them to go on their own. We even struggled without proper shoes on as the cast iron pattern continues on each step. It was a nightmare. The lady I booked with clearly has no experience with toddlers.
We asked to move initially but couldn't as all cottages were booked. The caretakers were really helpful and couldn't do enough. They installed a stair gate and were on hand for all requests.
Other gripes include no DVD player, missing knives from set and all very blunt, no kitchen scissors, no fish slice/turner, no baking trays, just a round pizza tray, no kitchen roll, foil or cling film. I would expect all of these when paying 4* prices. No recycling bags provided but recycling was requested. We had to keep taking it to recycling bins in several trips. Also, wood floor needs replacing throughout.
Very disappointed. The worst bit about it is that I contacted them to complain and am still waiting for a reply, 3 months on. Disgusting treatment when we paid £575 for a 4 night break. Would not recommend, especially not to elderly, very young or not very mobile.
disappointed, Moor Grange, this is not good enough.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fabulous family get away”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We spent a week in the cottage over Easter and had a really lovely stay. The cottage is clean, well presented and well equipped and the location is perfect for anyone seeking a calm getaway.

The swimming pool and games room were perfect for entertaining the kids, and the dog loved running free in the fields.

Jon and Brenda really made the stay complete - they were on hand if we needed them and really went out of their way to make us feel welcome - everything from lending us a bag of sugar which we forgot to bring, right through to really making an effort with the kids, keeping them entertained and really going above and beyond expectations to ensure that everything was just perfect.

I highly recommend this place - due it's location and the friendliness of Jon and Brenda!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Helpfulness of the onsite team
Liked least: Bedding was a bit cheap and cheerful - would benefit from better quality sheets and duvets.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareySchn...
Bedar, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Booked the whole site ”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the whole venue for my family who all came over from Spain to spend my mothers birthday together.

The cleaner was unfriendly and rude but I was told by the owner she was being replaced as of August. Aside from that I cannot recommend it enough. What an incredible view from the terraces and the bedrooms and bathrooms were all brilliant sizes.

The main kitchen in the Manor House was ideal for our large family

We have already booked it for Easter

Can't wait! Thanks again and great indoor pool!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry P
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Holiday Rental!”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The views are beautiful. Would really recommend this cottage. Had an amazing time and can't wait to book again for next year!

Thank you!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sassy6283
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cottage”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

On arrival the grounds were very unkept, the picture of property we were staying in showed an abundance of flowers etc, these were now all dead with weeds. Inside the bannister was loose leading upstairs , the wifi wasn't working , radiatiors were leaking and windows wouldn't close! The pool was freezing and the fumes were really strong. All this was reported and the onsite housekeeper was fantastic but unfortunately we still haven't heard back from owners for any assitance. Really disappointed! The views are amazing and property could be if the owners actually made a bit of an effort!.not recommended until improved vastly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buxton hotels

Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing