We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful house for a family weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
The ideal location in the heart of the Peak District for friends and family to get  together.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The ideal location in the heart of the Peak District for friends and family to get  together.
The master bedroom with its imposing oak beams,romantically decorated for that special get away. Watch the sun setting  as it disappears over the stunning  Derbyshire countryside .
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
The ideal location in the heart of the Peak District for friends and family to get  together.
The master bedroom with its imposing oak beams,romantically decorated for that special get away.
Watch the sun setting  as it disappears over the stunning  Derbyshire countryside .
Relax in our inviting hot tub 'Go on you know you want too' Stay...Play...Enjoy..!
Relax on the decking with a glass of wine overlooking the ponds.
Stunning oak beams and exposed limestone walls.
Our second superb double bedroom.
Our third bedroom  has two twin beds which can be a king size on request
Relax on our luxurious leather sofas in front of a real fire
One of the Stunning views over Buxton and the surrounding countryside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah B
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful house for a family weekend”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a lovely five day break at this beautiful house. Sue very friendly and we appreciated the flowers, wine, tea and cakes on arrival. Lots to visit in the area. We loved Dovedale and a great day out at Alton Towers. Enjoyed barbecuing and sitting by chiminea and warming up and relaxing in the hot tub . Would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanton92...
Mistley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

this property was just what we wanted,after reading the last view ,i dont know where they were from,mars perhaps,this was we were looking for,every thing that was needed,cannot thank sue enough,welcome pack.heating on ,open country side,lovely walks,,what more can you ask for,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrighty0
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Enjoyed a 3 night break with old friends and we couldn't have asked for much more!

This is a beautifully renovated barn to an extremely high standard. We found the barn very child friendly and the location great - peaceful yet close to both Buxton & Bakewell.

The barn has everything you need bedding, towels, tea/coffee, eggs, TV, Radio, Hot Tub, Garden, Trampoline! On arrival we also recieved milk, cakes, wine & halloween sweets for the children!
Great touch, Thank You

Our only small thing would be that we booked through holiday Lettings & apart from payment receipts we didn't recieve any confirmation, directions, check in/out times, information etc. I contacted the owners the week prior and we did get a bit lost finding it as the sat nav didn't recognise the easiest route to the barn. All in all though we would definitely recommend this property to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jemStockp...
Sunrise Beach, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave! EVER!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

EVERYTHING about this property has the guest's comfort in mind. Sue was waiting for us when we arrived and showed us everything we needed to know, without lingering, leaving us a wonderful welcome basket too. The house is absolutely beautifully renovated, modern conveniences in a country atmosphere. Its perfect for families, groups, friends and even feels right for just one couple. The location is great - central to Buxton and the A6 but far away from ANY traffic noise.

The hot tub is fabulous -private, sheltered, lit by fairy lights, even has hooks for your towels and shelves for your drinks! The kitchen is equipped with everything you could wish for - we catered for a group of 6 friends and our family of 12 on another occasion - never struggled for anything!

Plenty of towels in all the bedrooms, and special ones for the hot tub. Washing machine in the garage meant we could keep up with the towels throughout our stay. However, you might bring extra towels if you are staying with a large group.

The heating is good and you can add to it with the cosy log burners but you do need to find your own firewood, which was surprisingly difficult in Buxton town centre. Be prepared to search!

The pet policy is very fair and VERY easy to adhere to - they have a gate in place so that dogs don't go upstairs. Can't argue with that!

Overall, leaving the cottage at the end of our week's stay was not easy - it is rare to stay away from home and feel like you have every creature comfort you could wish for...but Sue and Steve has accomplished this with flair. You are certain to feel at home at Bailey Flatt Barn and WHEN we return I think it will feel like coming home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub/ country kitchen/ log burners
Liked least: Searching for firewood - would pay to have this provided in advance!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Bailey Flatt Barn, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to your return, your review is very much appreciated.
Regards Sue & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia L
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, shame about the owners treatment towards us.”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We went as a group of seven women in our twenties to celebrate our friends birthday.
The owner was accommodating enough to let us in 45 minutes early so we could set up banners and balloons etc for her.
The property itself is in a beautiful location, with parking enough for two cars.
The property was immaculate, very well looked after and you can tell that care has gone into it. We were provided with enough towels for each of us and then 4 extra for the hot tub as you can only have 4 people in at a time which meant we were reusing each others towels as we took turns.
The speaker set up doesnt work unfortunately but we managed to set our own up, it just meant the music didnt reach the hot tub outside.
The log burner is a lovely touch but we only had enough for one evening, there are shops only a 10 minute drive though if you want to go and buy more.
The only thing that let this property and weekend down was the owner.
She turned up without notifying us on the Sunday afternoon while we were cooking dinner and in the hot tub which felt intrusive. She came and tested the hot tub water although she'd already shown us how to clean it.
We felt as though if it were a family holiday she wouldnt have turned up unannounced. She also turned the heating off when she saw it was on during the day, it's the middle of February and we were cold a lot of the weekend so again, this made us feel uncomfortable.
When we left we also received a call accusing us of stealing towels, resulting in an argument with her. Which she later text to say she'd found. Again, I feel as though this would never happen if it had been a family holiday.
Overall, it's a lovely property, in a beautiful location but we wouldn't recommend it as being accused of stealing and being checked up on is offensive and intrusive.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Bailey Flatt Barn and the overall rating you gave us .
We can only apologise for you feeling aggrieved by the way you feel you were treated and can assure you this was not our intention.
With the property having the added benefit of the use of its own private hot tub this needs periodically monitoring with chemicals added to keep the water in pristine condition and to stop bacteria forming, these chemicals are toxic and harmful undiluted and need to be added in a measured dose this was the reason for our visit to the barn on Sunday and also a courtesy call to see if everything was satisfactory which every guest who stays with us receives and has never had any problem with. The tablet and chemical we ask to be added by our guests is already highly diluted and is only a daily water conditioner and not a cleaning agent there for if not checked the water would quickly deteriorate,after being given permission to enter to our barn to gain access to the store room. The heating being on constant this soon warms the barn to a comfortable temperature and with the bedroom window being open assuming this had been reached so returned it to timed.
The barn is provided with seven sets of towels for guest to use and four towels for use in the hot tub , some of which had been mislaid upon inquiring if any had accidentally been taken could they be returned.

Again we can only apologise if you feel aggrieved.

Regards Steve and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing