We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant and modern”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Toll Barn Cottage

Spacious barn for two (one well behaved dog also permitted).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious barn for two (one well behaved dog also permitted).
Enjoy picturesque scenery and walks from the doorstep. Off road parking. Well equipped kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Spacious barn for two (one well behaved dog also permitted).
Enjoy picturesque scenery and walks from the doorstep. Off road parking.
Well equipped kitchen.
Comfortable dining area.
Shower room, with heated towel rail.
Living room, with roomy sofas to relax and stretch out.
Living room, with one basket of logs provided for log burner.
Super king size bed, plenty of storage room.
Light and airy in Summer, snug and warm in Winter.
Cosy throughout the year - Christmas and New Year breaks catered for.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
markallen...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Brilliant and modern”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We are currently staying here and this place is fabulous!! Warm, modern and spacious. Everything you could ever need. The hosts are super friendly too. Off road parking is a bonus too!! One to remember and return too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again.
Regards Sally & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angiea195...
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An ideal location for exploring the Peak District”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We found the cottage very comfortable with everything we needed - except no maps (but we had one of our own). It was accessible enough for husband with some mobility issues, though shower was a bit tricky. Also, the shower temperature was quite a challenge to regulate. A great location for walks/runs, both off-road and on-road (up behind the cottage). We were not bothered in the least by the main road - indeed, it means it is easy to get to Buxton, Whaley Bridge and beyond.
Bellringing at Taxal church, Thursday evenings. Spectacular countryside within in a few minutes' drive and lots of cycle routes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review. We will look at the shower temperature - no-one has mentioned this to us before, but thank you for your feedback on this and we will investigate! Glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we will also get a few maps too. Regards Sally and Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry E
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but with a big but”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very nicely renovated, furnished and equipped with very friendly owners on site BUT just beyond the stone wall in the photo is the main A road between Whaley Bridge and Buxton. Busy for a lot of the day especially peak hours and weekends when the bikers are around. We feel that this should be clearly stated in the advertisements for the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable bed
Liked least: Traffic noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
We appreciate the comments about the barn furnishings/interior of the barn, which we spent a lot of effort on. In terms of the road, at the moment the local bypass (which redirects traffic from this road) is having some work done on it, which may have increased the traffic more than usual. Usually there is a traffic peak at work times (morning and evening), and it often quietens down during the day. We have had many people stay in the barn over the last 5 years and be very happy with it, including many repeat bookings. The walls to the barn itself are thick stone, it is fully double glazed throughout, and the bedroom is located to the rear of the cottage, which minimises traffic noise. An advantage of the location for any winter visitors is that you are unlikely to get snowed in, as the road is usually accessible even during any snow. Another advantage of the location during any time of year is the many walks available right from the doorstep, plunging you straight into the countryside without having to use the car - yet all local amenities are within a couple of miles - many consider this to be the best of both worlds. Ample, secure parking (in the grounds of the property, not on the road) is provided to all barn visitors. All prospective visitors are welcome to contact us for any further details or to look up the location on the internet. Of course we regret any that any guests are in any way dissatisfied. Few properties are 100% perfect, and in regards to advertising, it is usual to highlight the positives. We hope that prospective visitors will use this review, and our response, to choose what is right for them. Thank you Sally & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa44424...
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely, modern accommodation.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Had a brilliant stay here. Bed very comfy. Lots of space in all rooms. Very clean and tidy. The road did not bother us.....made it easily accessible from Buxton and Chapel. Enjoyed watching the world go by. Great space for our travel cot in bedroom. Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and modern
Liked least: No bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldie888
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely & relaxing!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Tollbarn in the new year. We went there to wind down from the Christmas festivities and it was great. It was relaxing, spacious and the log burner was such a bonus. It was easy to find, a a great location for visiting places such as Buxton and Bakewell.

I would recommend this place to anyone! Poppy (our little dog) loved it too! Many thanks, hope to return someday soon!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing