We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pies!”
Review of The Pack Horse Inn

The Pack Horse Inn
Ranked #12 of 126 Restaurants in Buxton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pub Diner in Derbyshire, small village called Crowdecote near Buxton
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Stopped for lunch where I had the Pie of the day and my partner the Bangers and Mash. The pie was fantastic and the sausages, made to the landlords own recipe, superb.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank robertwatmough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Our visit was for a Sunday lunch treat and that is what we received. Very friendly staff. The food was varied, we all had different meals and everyone was pleased with their choice. There was also a very decent selection of real ales available, too. Unfortunately, one had to drive there so sampling all the beers was not possible. I can really recommend this place. There is a reasonably sized car park, a beer garden and good views of the local countryside. I would suggest pre-booking as it is the type of place that can become very busy in the summer months and it is not the biggest place. We were really happy with our visit

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank thomaspsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Great friendly little pub. We sat in the beer garden with our dog and enjoyed a lovely home cooked meal which was amazing value for money. Thoroughly recommend a visit we will definitely return

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Booked for food on a Friday evening great choice and plentiful, the chicken & chorizo pie was lovely and a proper pie with a top& bottom. Great selection of ales served by the hard working Landlord mostly local brews which went down a treat. The only thing that spoilt it for us was a couple of rude locals who were mesmerised by someone parking there car in the car park and literally sat on my wife’s knee for a good five minutes while they watched the show. This is no reflection on the pub though just a little bit off putting whilst we were eating our meal.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank B16hx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Excellent food. Very good prices. Dog friendly. Felt very welcome. Plenty of room but would advise to book during the weekend.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pack Horse Inn also viewed

 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Pack Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing